Image by author

How Writing Helped Heal My Pains and Chronic Troubles

Writing as a source of hope

God'sgift Oghale Amos
3 min readMay 20, 2024

--

I'm one of those people who believe in having few friends. To me, having few friends closes my vulnerability and keeps my life private. It gives me a sense of power that I can't quite explain. A sense of pride. A sense of self that I can't quite put into words.

I don't believe much in the power of socializing, nor do I hate to socialize. I know the importance of friends and loved ones who believe in you and cheer you up during times of pain and trouble. During those times, all I want is myself and them by my side. But my diary is all I have, and trust is relative.

Image by author

However, believe me, writing has been my source of solace, my paracetamol for joy, pain, bitterness, troubles, emotional traumas, and so on. Whenever I'm burdened or heavy with a problem I can't solve, all I do is cry and write my heart out. My heart pounds, my chest feels heavy, and once I'm done writing, I feel healed or at least relaxed. Problem solved!

My life is my diary. My diary is my writing. My writing is my heart. My heart plus writing is my strength. My strength is my weakness. My weakness is my vulnerability, which I believe people should not know about. But anyway, how can I write something and still believe no one will notice, as long as it's in black and white on paper?

Image by author

Read also:

One day, people I know will know. Let me tell you, as a growing child, I suffered many terrible things. From going hungry to sleeping in a thatched-roof house. From a leaking roof to a very hot room. Sometimes it was cold at night. I failed at school and disappointed my parents... to say the least.

I'm not one of those who believe people should have pity on me. I don't buy that, and I sternly refuse it. I won't sell it either. To me, that stinks! So I don't usually share my problems. Don't tell me that cliché, "a problem talked about is a problem half solved." Sorry, it won't work!

But everything was healed through writing. You may ask how it was healed, and how it was solved. But all I know is that it was solved. My mind tells me so when I feel inner peace. Simple! I don't know which trouble you face now as you read this, but can I ask you to jot it down?

Image by author

Haven't you thought about why many things are written on paper? Why we learn stuff already written, like history books? I can't explain it much, but all I know is that writing has the power to heal, so use that power to its utmost usefulness. I hope to hear how this has impacted you and how writing helped you out once in this miserable life. Writing is power. Your pen is power. Your inner voice is power. So use it!

Unlock exclusive content and join a community of like-minded individuals by subscribing to our social media pages (Twitter-X or use this handle: @godsgiftoa, on all social media platforms to connect with me) and newsletter! Get early access to new blog posts, behind-the-scenes stories, expert thoughts, and more. Be part of a supportive community that shares your passions and interests, and helps shape our content. Subscribe now and stay inspired!

--

--

God'sgift Oghale Amos
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I am a simple "Parent Expert Doctor"...to me is all about Parenting+Family+Life+Tech+Children+Philosophy+Entrepreneur(ship)....+God!