Activity U — A Knowledge Curation Project

Oliver Ding
CALL4
Published in
19 min readDec 8, 2020

--

A brief of the Activity U project and knowledge curation.

This is Curation! (Photo by Oliver Ding)

I started the Activity U project on August 19, 2020. Initially, I just made a diagram called “Activity U” which is a test of the “HERO U” framework. I wrote a post to explain the diagram “Activity U”.

The original title of the post is Activity U: The Landscape of Activity Theory. Later, I added “(Part I)” to the end of the title. It expanded from one post to a series of articles. In Sept, I wrote an article about one of the popular diagrams of Activity Theory: Activity U (IV): The Engeström’s Triangle and the Power of Diagram and created a template of the diagram on Miro. I added a note for the template at the end of the article, “This board is part of the Activity U project, it will be a fun place for collective learning and creating.”

On October 1, I wrote a post to review the first year of CALL (Creative Action Learning Lab) and claimed that Activity Theory as a learning object for Transdisciplinary Thinking which means the knowing between academic domains and non-academic domains. I pointed out four reasons of selecting Activity Theory for Transdisciplinary Thinking:

  • It is an established theoretical tradition.
  • It is an interdisciplinary philosophical framework for studying both individual and social aspects of…

--

--

Oliver Ding
CALL4

Founder of CALL(Creative Action Learning Lab), information architect, knowledge curator.