The Valley, Part 3

A wisdom tale of remembering one’s divine nature

Janaka Stagnaro
Catharsis Chronicles

--

Artwork by the author.

If you have not read the previous two parts: Part 1 and Part 2.

And without hesitation, he did as was told, and sprung upwards to catch hold of the awaiting hand. How sure this hand felt; how strong as he was lifted up easily upon the path.

Indeed, the man of the valley noticed that the path was not steep at all, and while holding the other’s hand, he seemed to fly up the trail.

Yet when the two neared the cloud, the follower thought, why should I still hold his hand and be led like a child when I feel so strong? I can make this climb myself.

And he let go the other’s hand.

Immediately he felt his steps grow heavy and his back grow bent. And the path seemed to grow steeper.

He called out:

“Why is this happening? Why can I hardly move at all?”

The one who knew the path replied:

“Alone you cannot make this climb. You must climb with every one of your brothers. And I am they, though I am only one.

“Understand this, my brother, and take my hand, a hand forever outstretched to you, no matter how many times you choose to falter.”

--

--

Janaka Stagnaro
Catharsis Chronicles

Poetry, parables, articles — spiritual, life-lessons, Waldorf education, artwork. 11 books. www.janakasartandbooks.com