The Short Sale · Chapter 3 · Late to Work

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
Chapter by Chapter
Published in
4 min readJun 16, 2023

--

“The Short Sale: A Disgruntled Former Homeowner Seeks Revenge for Losing His House” by Miguel A. Calles
The Short Sale book cover

Mike worked at Cray Defense Solutions (or CDS for short). CDS was much like many companies that supplied services and equipment for military defense systems. They expected employees to work during core hours (9 AM to 4 PM) and be able to account for every minute they are working on military programs. The United States Government audited the invoices for military defense contractors and imposed heavy fines if they deemed the invoices were inaccurate. As a result, CDS adopted a culture of strict oversight and micromanagement.

Mike had become very bitter and disillusioned over the years. He was very loose about the hours he submitted in his daily timecard. Most of the company’s policies and oversight did not phase him. But, he did dislike the micromanagement. This was mainly because of one particular supervisor that gave him grief.

Mike walked into the CDS lobby almost one hour late. The security guard nodded his head at Mike and pointed to his watch. Mike shrugged his shoulders. He swiped his badge and walked through the mantrap gate. He turned the corner to go up the stairs and saw his reflection in the half-dome safety mirror. His collar was unfolded, and his shirt was untucked. He quickly fixed his collar and tucked in his shirt while he climbed the stairs.

One of Mike’s co-workers was inside his cubicle. It took Mike by surprise. Mike exclaimed, “What are you doing in my office, man?!”

“Calm down, Mike. Are you having another bad day? Or is that a regular day for you? I was dropping off the ethical hacker book you wanted to borrow.”

“Ohh,” sighed Mike. “Umm. I was afraid I’d see Shelley on the way in. I wasn’t expecting to see anyone at my desk. I thought you might have been her. Sorry, John.”

“I know my hair is a little long, but I doubt it looks long enough to look like Shelley’s hair,” replied John. “Dude! Mind your Ps & Qs.”

“Mind my what?”

“I let you borrow my book. Aren’t you going to say something?”

“Ohh, yeah. Thanks, man.”

As he was responding, Shelley walked up behind him. John’s eyes widened in fear and surprise. Although Shelley was tall and had bright red hair, she somehow could sneak up on people.

“I’m wondering whether we need to talk with HR about your persistent tardiness. You know the company’s core hours,” Shelly scolded.

“Yes, ma’am,” Mike responded as politely as he could but with a tone of slight annoyance.

“I’ve told you!” Shelly responded angrily. “I do not appreciate being called ma’am.”

“Sorry, ma….” Mike paused. “Sorry… Shelley.”

Shelley was turning around to leave when she quickly turned around. She started glaring at the painted sea shell on Mike’s desk. The shell had googly eyes, orange fuzz above the eyes, and the opening was painted red to look like a mouth. Shelley thought it was tacky, but there was no company policy against having personal effects.

“What is that thing? I keep seeing that on your desk. I’ve never seen a grown man with a crafted shell on his desk before,” said Shelley with annoyance and curiosity.

Mike retorted sarcastically, “I appreciate the compliment.”

“Well?!”

“It helps me relax.”

“Yeah, whatever. Get to work!”

Shelley quickly turned around and stormed out into her office.

Mike picked up Shelley. He looked at it for a few moments and took a deep breath. He started to move the shell’s opening. He whispered, “Get back to work.”

“Dude,” John said with concern. “Eventually, she will figure out that the shell represents her. What are you going to do when she finds out?”

Mike was about to answer when he saw the clock. He was fifteen minutes late to a meeting. “I’m late for my meeting. Bye.” Mike ran to his meeting with his computer bag still on his back.

Before you go

In the next chapter, we attend Mike’s meeting.

Subscribe to my mailing list to get new chapters delivered to your email.

Is your dream to write a book, but you are worried you do not have what it takes? You can start writing one chapter at a time. Submit your drafts to the Chapter by Chapter publication and start realizing your dream.

Go to “The Short Sale” table of contents.

--

--

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
Chapter by Chapter

Author of Mastering AWS Serverless · AWS Community Builder · Specializing in CMMC, SOC 2, serverless & engineering.