Oct. 9: MBAs are a waste of money- get this instead. The leadership traps no one’s talking about. Weekly challenge and more…

Jared R Chaffee, CFA
Chapters & Interludes
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readOct 10, 2020

Thinking about getting an MBA?

I mentor military vets who are looking to transition into the corporate world, and many of them tell me they’re thinking of getting an MBA. Unless they’re trying to get into investment banking or private equity, I usually tell them to consider pursuing the CFA instead.

For me, the CFA was the perfect way to learn about finance (I have a nuclear engineering degree but work in finance), it established my credibility, and was WAY less expensive than an MBA (around $3,000 total). I highly recommend that anyone looking to get into finance to seriously consider the CFA before an MBA.

I got my CFA several years ago and had great success with the exams. I passed all three levels in less than 2 years and formulated a great study plan (my secret sauce) that I share in this post. I also include a Study Plan Worksheet that is a great help in completing your study time and preparing for exam day. Check out this post and study plan if you think the CFA may be right for you.

Photo by Sarah Kilian on Unsplash

First Principles Friday: Avoid these leadership traps

Earlier this year, I wrote a list of 10 leadership mistakes all leaders should avoid. It really resonated with my readers so this week I shared an additional 5 leadership traps to look out for. These are not as commonly spoken about but are important to be aware of.

This post is a quick, yet powerful read that will help you identify and eliminate these leadership traps in your own life. Being mindful of your leadership style and avoiding these traps will help you build credibility and achieve success as a leader.

Photo by Jean-Louis Paulin on Unsplash

Weekly Challenge

In this Friday’s post, I shared that great leaders should avoid leading without a Ruling Philosophy. This is absolutely critical and probably the most important aspect of being a good leader (or partner or parent for that matter). This is essentially the guiding principles that help direct your decision-making. This week, I challenge you to identify and write out your Ruling Philosophy and make a plan for how you are going to use it in your life as a leader. Check out this post for guidance on how to get started.

Drop me a line

I write to engage with my community. If you have any thoughts or suggestions for new posts simply reply to this email!

Check out my Instagram page @chaptersandinterludes.

Do you keep a daily journal? If so, visit my Instagram page, where you’ll find tons of journal prompts to use each day.

Need a new go-to WFH t-shirt or sweatshirt?

Check out my SUPER SOFT apparel for men, women, and kids by Cotton Bureau

--

--

Jared R Chaffee, CFA
Chapters & Interludes

Navy Submarines | Corporate Leader | Answering leadership & strategy questions using real-world experience | https://chaptersandinterludes.com/membership