7 thoughts after 7 days: London, England

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
4 min readJul 13, 2016

Aaaah, Europe! The continent I was supposed to be born on!

Remote Year Cousteau has landed in Europe (after a few of us did a little weekend getaway to Brazil for the 4th of July — so American, no?) and we’re ready for clean water, clean vegetables, and pubs for as far as the eye can see.

This is my third time in Londontown and I love it more and more each time I touch down (see what I did there?). This city is just has so much to offer and I’m excited to get to know it a lot better this month. As I get started, here’s a little recap on my thoughts from the past week.

1. Wait, is that English?

One of my first days in London, I went to a make your own pizza place for lunch. Easy enough, right? Ya, but almost too easy.

We did not how to act.

They were speaking English! They were nice! They took credit cards. Picture the scene in Elf when Will Ferrell first arrives in New York City. That was us.

Coming from South America, there was definitely a little bit of reverse culture shock. I’d honestly say that coming back to a first world country after being in Bolivia and Peru is worse culture shock than going there. We’re not used to all of the little things you definitely take for granted back home in States. Yet another reason I’m finding Remote Year to be a interesting way to check yourself on how much you take for granted in daily “normal” life.

Here’s to a few months back in the realm of normalcy and using my credit card.

2. #COLLEGE

In London, we’re living in a co-working / co-living building called The Collective about 45 minutes outside of the city. It’s pretty darn nice and everything works (hot water! you can flush toilet paper!), but it definitely brings me back to the college days. Everyone on the program is not more than a floor away from each other, we cook dinner together some nights, and there’s a general camaraderie that you’d find in a college dorm.

I’ve had roommates each month of Remote Year, so I’m used to having people around, but it’ll be a fun month since we’re all in such close quarters.

3. Never a dull moment.

In “real life,” AKA not Remote Year life, there would be special, planned weekends every so often that I would get to look forward to. Big holiday parties, festivals, trips to Napa with my mom. Once they were over, I’d endlessly scroll through my photo during the week after, and after some time had lapsed, I’d always think “oh man, _______ was already two weeks ago.”

In Remote Year life, every single weekend, sometimes every single day, is filled or planned with something I’m looking forward to. I’m excited about something happening all the time. I’m much more present and grateful for what has happened, looking forward to the future, but not dwelling too much on either.

4. So this is what it feels like to be a professional.

Ever since we’ve got to London, I’ve been go, go, go in terms of meetings. From meeting up with fellow product managers, to introducing myself to all the about.me users who get my emails in their inbox, I feel like I’m back doing the whole “career” thing. It’s nice to be out and about, expanding my network and all that jazz since there weren’t quite the same opportunities to do so in South America.

Can’t wait for all the LinkedIn endorsements.

5. 🤑🤑🤑

My poor bank account, South America was so nice to you!

London is expensive — even if the pound is (sort of) on our side after the #Brexit — and I want to do all the things! I’m being a bad budgeter right now, so stay tuned for next month’s update on Zoë’s financial state!

6. Woah, time zones.

We had it pretty easy in South America in terms of the time change back to the United States. I was two to four hours ahead of San Francisco, depending on the country, and it was generally pretty easy to correspond with my colleagues.

Now, eight hours ahead of everyone back in our SF office, it’s a bit harder to coordinate meetings on the fly, unless I want to be awake (and working) at 11pm at night. So far, it’s been alright and big hugs to my team for being so chill and understanding! Maybe I’ll become a night owl and be super productive during the dark hours?

7. All the amigos!

Last month was overall really great for me. I felt myself hit a stride, and I didn’t feel quite as ‘How do you do this Remote Year thing?’ as I have in the past. I loved Cusco’s charm and explored the city a ton. I also really got to know a lot more of my Remote Year crew in a deeper way. Feeling #blessed literally every day to be around so many kind, intelligent, and funny people. Thanks for being my friends, friends! 😘

Check out my recaps of Còrdoba, Buenos Aires, La Paz, and Cusco. Follow along on Instagram for my daily adventures.

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.