Install Go on AWS EC2

Getting started with Go: Part 2

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Golang | AWS Security

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In Part 1 of these series I explained why you might want to use Golang and how it may help with your application security. Now I’m going to install Go.

1. Decide where to install Golang

I am going to use a virtual machine on AWS (an EC2 instance) running the Amazon Linux 2 operating system to test this out. After each command below I will show the actual command and output produced when the I executed the command.

Here are the steps to launch and run an EC2 instance if you are not familiar. My security class labs have much more detailed steps to show people how to run and connect to cloud instances but hopefully these steps will be enough for anyone who is new to running a virtual machine in the cloud.

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award