The Coveted 100 and The Great Evolution

It’s officially a month since I first hit publish on Medium.

Wambui Njuguna
3 min readJul 23, 2022
Fireworks and a view of the sea
Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

I am content with my writing journey and my progress so far. Medium was the first place I started publishing my own articles.

I have had quite an adventure in my writing. When I started out as a writer, I ventured into academic writing. Honestly, I thought it was the only way to earn money through writing.

I experienced low pay and a low supply of jobs. In my search for more, a friend’s friend introduced me to article writing.

At that moment, I thought product descriptions, reviews, and articles of a similar kind were all there was to article writing.

As a clueless human, I didn’t know anything about web content, blogging, and the many other forms of writing I have learned along the way.

I am grateful that I always sought more because it led me here, and soon I will land somewhere better until one of us is no more.

I had once read a medium article, perhaps a lot more, considering my interest in articles. But I remember this one because I commented and published it on my profile.

I didn’t know what all that meant at the time. I was surprised when, on my quest for more, I decided to open an account and found I already had one signed in with one of my emails.

I logged in and started exploring the platform that I now know.

Exactly one month ago, I published my first article. I am an introvert who best knows to express herself through writing, so I wrote an article about introvert relationships.

I didn’t know what to expect after that. Hell, I thought it would be lost in the sea of the thousand articles I’d been scrolling through.

I got some views. I felt visible. When I got just ten views (with a less number of reads), I felt like I had what it takes to keep writing on Medium.

It’s a good feeling for a new writer who has yet to identify as a full-time freelance writer.

With time, I opened up more and interacted with other writers. I also joined a publication, the Musings was my first, and started writing about other things other than introversion.

I didn’t have a clear writing schedule. I often wonder if I would had I been chasing the coveted 100.

I knew from the beginning I could not earn money from the partner program (country-restricted), but I’d fallen in love with Medium.

I’d fallen in love with being able to share my articles.

I have had steady progress. A steady increase in views and reads and more engagement with other people on the platform.

Five days ago, I decided to participate in a 100-day writing challenge. I felt I was neglecting my writing and wanted to improve my writing habits.

Two days ago, I gained 100 followers and I felt grateful for that.

I have learned a lot of things on Medium. I have grown as a writer because of Medium.

I have had the biggest evolution in my writing career since I joined Medium. It gives off that community vibe, and I have been reveling in that.

The skeleton of an animal
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I met great writers too, brilliant and excellent in their craft.

I’m not oblivious to the negativity peeking around different corners, I choose to ignore it.

I love writing. I love expressing myself through writing. Medium offers me that haven, and only Medium can take it away.

--

--

Wambui Njuguna

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/