There’s No Justice In Killing XV

A Rebecca Wu And Henry James Series

P.G. Barnett
Dark Sides of the Truth

--

Image by Edward Lich on Pixabay

My name is Henry James and I’m a writer for Dark Sides of the Truth magazine.

Part I, Part II, Part III, Part IV, Part V, Part VI, Part VII, Part VIII, Part IX, Part X, Part XI, Part XII, Part XIII, Part XIV

The first thing I saw as I exited the rear of the barn was the trail. It was a pathway of trampled pampas reeds leading away from the barn in the direction of a collection of hills.

There was one good thing about the pathway. At least it was grass and not gravel or stone, which would have torn my socks and feet to shreds.

I couldn’t see Macy on the trail, but I figured he only had about a five-minute headstart. If I could start running, I could catch up quickly.

Two problems with my plan.

First, at my age, I didn’t think I could run. Second, if I somehow did manage to get my ancient equipment working, there was no guarantee I could sustain it for very long.

I took a few deep breaths, then started jogging. Every time my feet hit the ground, pain in each of my hips flared, but I kept going.

Minutes later, the barn exploded, the ground beneath my feet vibrating from the concussion, heated air buffeting my backside.

--

--

P.G. Barnett
Dark Sides of the Truth

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.