Day 129 or “The Day Marriage Becomes a Topic of Conversation”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 30, 2017

I’m back to my usual routine. Awake at 5:30. Stormy decides that she likes this routine as well and gets up at 6am. This complicates my morning somewhat. However it doesn’t last for long as she falls asleep in a tiny chair next to my computer.

I make the mistake of not checking the weather before offering to take Stormy to school. Today is taxi weather. Worth it however as she spends the trip telling me about the school excursion to the goat farm yesterday.

After school, and subsequent play-date, we go through the usual evening routine. She actually eats all her dinner today. The dinner conversation revolves around reading. I explain that “reading is literally the most important skill you can learn in your entire life”. She looks at me with a raised eyebrow. “Are you sure?” she asks skeptically.

During her bath we talk about her upcoming party. “I’ll be 5. And then I’ll be 6, then 7, 8, 9 and then 10” she says excitedly. “And when I’m 10 I can marry Rafael”.

Wait, what.

I’m stunned. Multiple thoughts go through my head. Starting with “I wasn’t expecting this conversation yet” and finishing with “who’s Rafael?”. Stormy senses my stunned silence and cuts me off with “it’s my choice, I can marry whoever I like”. “Of course” I agree. I go on to explain that she can marry anyone, even her friend from today’s play-date. “No I can’t, she’s a girl” Stormy exclaims. “Of course you can, you can marry a boy or girl” I correct. Showing that prejudice is something you learn — she simply says “OK” and carries on with her bath.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 128) | Tomorrow (Day 130) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.