Day 130 or “The Day I Attend the Parent Teacher Interview”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readMay 31, 2017

There’s no school today so I let Stormy sleep in. Although in fairness I probably should have woken her up early out of spite. However the hallmark of a parent is to forgive so I let her sleep. I still have to go to work so I’ve organised a play-date for her today. I manage to get her ready for that before heading out.

Leaving work early I scoot to her school for the parent teacher interview. As always, her teachers are friendly and frank in their assessment. Though it’s mostly everything I already know. She’s sociable, well liked, good at math but needs to work on her reading. Basically the exact opposite of me at her age (and most ages since to be honest).

I get home just as the play-date finishes. She’s feeling a little down today so it takes a while to get her to eat. There is much storming off and shouting of “leave me alone”. She eventually calms down and eats with the promise of Skyping Mummy. Once her stomach and heart are full she’s a darling for the rest of the evening.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 129) | Tomorrow (Day 131) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.