Day 149 or “The Day Stormy is a Cat”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readJun 19, 2017

Stormy emerges from the bedroom and announces that she’s not going to school today “because I’m on holiday”. I thank her for reminding me and then ask her to go back to sleep because it’s too early. She decides to join me for the rest of the morning and happily chatters away while we’re getting ready. The time comes to leave for work and I leave her with her grandmother and wish them luck.

I get home for dinner and watch Stormy play with one the puzzles she received for her birthday. This one has lasers so I have fun with it as well. After dinner we call her mother. During which, Stormy takes the opportunity to unleash her full creativity. My favourite point is when she announces that she is “half cat, half otter, and half turtle”. She then proceeds to curl into her shell, lick herself clean and swim across the floor. Her mother is laughing so hard on the other side of the call she can barely talk.

I eventually get her off the call and into the bath. Stormy turns to me and announces; “Evan”, (yes, she calls me Evan), “I want to be a cat everyday”. A short pause. “Only when it’s not school — I don’t want to be a cat at school”. I can’t help but agree.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 148) | Tomorrow (Day 150) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.