Day 155 or “The Day Stormy Just Wants To See The World Burn”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 25, 2017

It’s a miserable day today so the options to keep a 5 year old occupied are limited. After a few hours of play at home (in which I discover that Ludo is even more boring that Monopoly, but that Stormy loves it) we decide to leave the house, brave the storm, and encamp ourselves at the library.

A great idea, somewhat foiled by the fact it is closed for Hari Raya. We stop for lunch while we reconsider our options. Stormy takes the opportunity to play her new reading games on my phone. How much is reading and how much is just pattern matching I’ll never know. We decide to walk across the road to the toy museum which is always good for an hour or two. After exploring the exhibits (and stopping for an ice cream) we return home and watch a little TV.

We talk about our Singapore bucket list. Stormy names a few things she’d like to do (a sleepover with her best friend is top of mind). I write these down on post-it notes and add them to the wall. I put the post-it note pad down for a moment and Stormy takes the opportunity to grab it. “I just want one” she says as she starts peeling the back off the pad. “No, that’s the wrong side” I exclaim trying to stop her, “please don’t”. She just looks me in the eye and slowly peels the back off. Some people just want to see the world burn.

The sun comes up and we take the opportunity to head downstairs to the pool for a quick swim while we can. Afterward, while she’s in the bath, I take the opportunity to leave her with her grandmother and get a bit of shopping done. Some new books for her and a present for her friend.

After preparing a quick dinner of leftovers, the day ends with Stormy reading her new books to me. Storm Troopers become Trooplets and Darth Vader is Dark Vader, but I’m not willing to correct either of those at this time.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 154) | Tomorrow (Day 156) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.