Day 154 or “The Day We Decide on an Approach to Reading”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readJun 24, 2017

Today is a complete blur. I know we went through the usual Saturday routine (Toastbox, Sportsball, shopping at Daiso, Lunch, and playing at Royce’s Kids Gym), but for the life of me I can’t remember any of it. I suspect that says more about me than the day itself. Allow me then to begin this diary from the point my brain begins. Bedtime.

It’s a little later than it used to be as, now that Stormy is 5, we have moved her bedtime to 7:30. I’m not sure why as she still refuses to go to sleep until 9:30.

During this particular bedtime Stormy continues her war of attrition against reading. Going as far as breaking promises to her grandmother. Rather than punishing her, I sit her down on my knee to talk about ‘why’. I tell her that I don’t want to punish her for not reading (I don’t want her to hate books), but that we do need to find ways to practice every day. We decide to incorporate reading into every day activities, replace the phone games with reading games and supplement her books with some superhero comics. She readily agrees, although that may have just been to get me to stop talking. However, I make it clear that I will punish her if she lies or breaks a promise.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 153) | Tomorrow (Day 155) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.