Day 2

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 11, 2017

Has it only been two days… It feels like an eternity.

It seems incongruous that last night’s girl with the unbounded energy and this morning’s sleepy little girl, who refuses to get up, is the same person. And yet here we are. After an eternity she rises from her slumber and resumes her true place as the center of all things by demanding, in no uncertain terms, toast for breakfast.

Surprisingly, once satiated on three slices of toast, she becomes docile and agrees to get dressed, brush her teeth and go down to the school bus. She wants to play hide and seek at the bus stop and, for the shortest time, she is this amazing little girl. Somehow I keep waiting for something to happen but she’s on the bus before I know it and I can be an adult for 8 hours. I did not expect these to be some of the hardest hours of my life.

But before long the day is over and I’m back at home. With the exhaustion of the last few days overwhelming her, she’s quickly fed, brushed and in bed. I don’t know why she has her own bedroom. She never goes in there any more. Certainly not for sleep.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 1) | Tomorrow (Day 3) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.