Day 3

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 11, 2017

At about 5:30 this morning, I was unexpectedly awoken from my sleep. In the post-sleep haze, it took me a moment to realise why. The bed around me was suddenly very warm and very wet. Given the late hour of her falling asleep last night, I am left with a conundrum. Do I wake Stormy, strip down the bed and wash her in the knowledge that she will not go back to sleep. Or to I lie there, in rapidly cooling urine, until a more reasonable hour. By now, I’m sure you know what the answer is.

At 6:30 Stormy declared herself awake, and that she needed a shower. Thankful that I could finally rise, we have a rapid, but thorough, shower before embarking on the usual morning ritual. It’s raining outside and the subdued atmosphere somehow makes it easier to bundle her into the bus without further incident.

The day itself passes without incident.

Stormy is starting to miss her mother. Just before dinner she breaks down into tears asking for her mother, as “she doesn’t want Daddy”. I am crushed, but manage to console her and miraculously convince her to eat dinner. This is the same food that she has been rejecting for the last 30 minutes and stating, in no uncertain terms, that “she doesn’t like it”. This all changes once she decides she’s hungry and then it’s the best food ever. After dinner we Skype her mother and all is calm for a time.

But then it’s time for bed. When they say children need their sleep, what they don’t tell you is that children also refuse to do so. It takes 3 hours for Stormy to finally adjourn for the night and, during that time, my ability to be a caring parent all but disappears. But once she’s asleep all is right in the world.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 2) | Tomorrow (Day 4) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.