Day 214 or “The Day Stormy Has Eyes”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readAug 23, 2017

After 15 minutes of harassing the cat, it’s ToastBox again this morning. It’s becoming quite a bonding experience for us. As we scoot along the river we talk about all the different things around us. “Because I have eyes” is a common answer to many of my questions. She puts her amazing memory to good use by telling me stories about things we saw months ago. It saddens me to know that she won’t remember any of this when she’s older.

Stormy has another play-date after school. I leave work early and scoot off to pick her up. I find them in the playground. However, when I approach, Stormy runs away. She doesn’t want to leave her friend just yet. Given the fact that we are leaving the country soon, I’m willing to let her play. It’s nearly dark by the time we leave.

As we scoot home, she tells me everything about her day. I love the way she describes things now. She gives the most long-winded explanations. It’s like she’s just discovered that she can’t run out of words and so is trying them all on. In a single sentence, she’ll describe the same concept in three different ways. All without pausing for breath.

After dinner, she wants to play. We start with hide-and-seek, but she gets really upset whenever I find her. After an hour, I leave her to play in her bedroom. By 11pm she’s still there, in her bed, surrounded by her books. She’s starting to read for fun. I hope to encourage this.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 213) | Tomorrow (Day 215) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.