Day 53

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 16, 2017

I love sleeping on the sofa. It always feels like camping. That being said, having a four-year-old on the sofa with you does somewhat lessen than the experience.

Having forgotten to close the blinds before going to sleep, we wake to the sun streaming through the windows. And yet, even waking that early, Stormy refuses to get ready in time for the bus. In fact the only reason we don’t miss the bus… is that the bus itself is late. Frustratingly, this somewhat reduces the impact teaching Stormy a lesson on the importance of punctuality. But come the bus does and soon I’m waving good bye.

But not for long. For today is a surprise school play. I try to explain to the principal that 24 hours is insufficient notice. There seems to be an expectation that one of the parents will always be available. A fraught assumption when there’s only one in the country. But, calling in a few favours, I escape from work for a few hours to see Stormy sing about spiders and other squirmy things. Then it’s back to work until evening.

Stormy continues to fight against any food put in front of her. Ironically she chooses to eat the leftover food that she fought against last night. Tonight, she misses out on the most amazing homemade beef pie. Her loss. Although I’m sure she’ll decide to eat it tomorrow instead of whatever I put in front of her then.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 52) | Tomorrow (Day 54) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.