Day 66

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readMar 28, 2017

My alarm wakes me up before the sun rises. From the corner of the bed comes the sound of a sleeping girl. A quiet rumbling from under the sheets. Almost a melody in the darkness of the room. I creep out and have a little time to myself before the day begins.

Once she wakes, she reminds me that I said I would try and take her for breakfast at ToastBox as a treat. Regretfully, I have to disappoint her by explaining that I need to be at work early. That I tried, but failed, to move my 8am call. She does not understand. How can anything be more important than her. My heart breaks and we go to ToastBox. I’ll just be late for work.

It’s worth it.

Returning home and she’s the sweetest little girl. After dinner, which she eats, we begin our evening ritual. She still refuses to go to bed but is cheerful about it the whole time. I think would enjoy my time with her a lot more if she did what she was told. I think I would also respect her less.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 65) | Tomorrow (Day 67) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.