Day 67

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 29, 2017

I awake a little late this morning. It takes me a moment to realise that I’m not in my bed. Somehow I had committed to sleeping in Stormy’s room last night. I’m not sure why I did that. However, I did get a good nights sleep. Her mattress is actually better than ours.

I drag her out of bed with me and, after a little grumbling, the morning progresses as normal. She chooses to wear a dress today. I like it when she wears dresses. It means I don’t need to try and match two pieces of clothing. Our lateness in waking means that I am forced to bundle her up (with her breakfast in a little box) and run to the bus. We make it.

The rest of the day passes without incident.

I return home after work to find that the book I ordered Stormy has arrived — “The Princess Who Saved Herself”. She has just enough “being good” stickers to earn her book. I tell her this while we are playing Lego. She is so excited she can’t wait to read it. I mean that sentence literally. She cannot, and does not, wait. She refuses to eat and wants me to hurry up so I can read her the story. I make sure she follows as much of the night routine as possible. Then we sit down on the bed and I read her the story. And again. And again.

As usual it takes a few hours before she actually goes to sleep. But when she does, she’s holding her new book.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 66) | Tomorrow (Day 68) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.