Day 91

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readApr 22, 2017

Sleep, glorious sleep. Stormy is so tired after Movie night that I get a blissful sleep in. Being kicked in the kidneys a few times is but a small price to pay for the luxury. She wakes and comes up to me to exclaim; “Daddy, I don’t want to go to Sportsball today!”

It seems deviousness runs in the family. I’m more than happy to agree that she doesn’t have to go to Sportsball. Although I’d still like ToastBox for breakfast and would she like to join me? Yes, she would. And how about going to Daiso, it doesn’t open until after Sportsball (a small dad lie). Yes, great. Let’s scoot off and get breakfast. 10 minutes later. “Daddy, I’ve changed my mind. I’d like to go to Sportsball”. Really, that’s absolutely fine.

Of course, the fact that we need to visit two ToastBox’s to find one that has a sausage bun almost ruins my plan.

She has so much fun at Sportsball and is a real delight. She’s excited and happy and generally amazing. Afterwards we scoot to Daiso, as promised, and she buys herself some toy jewelry. I generally try and de-genderise her toys as much as I can, but sometimes, when it’s her choice, she wants the girly stuff. And when it’s her choice, I’m OK with that. She declares that she’s hungry. We stop at the Hawker center for a lunch of chicken rice, which in typical Stormy style, she then refuses to eat. She’s not hungry anymore. I eat it.

We return home and all she wants to do is play Lego. She has a play date in the afternoon, so it’s a good way to spend a few hours without resorting to TV.

After dinner, a bath and the obligatory hour of Lego, Stormy turns to me and asks, “Can you help me to sleep?”. It’s a surprisingly hard question. I’ve spent months arguing with her that she needs to sleep, introducing rewards and penalties, but actually giving her advice. I don’t know. I want to say close your eyes and go to sleep, but that’s not very helpful. All I can think of is some of my old meditation training. I get Stormy to focus on her toes and start breathing in and out slowly. It takes about 10 minutes but we work up her body. I think she’s actually more awake now.

She does eventually fall asleep, in her own bed tonight, and now I’m so tired I’m ready for my bed.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 90) | Tomorrow (Day 92) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.