Day 94

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readApr 25, 2017

I wake at 6am, sit up on the side of the bed and stretch. Stormy chooses this point to surprise me me a) being in my bed and b) being awake. “What are you doing daddy? It’s too early.”, “No it’s not, it’ll be light soon”, “OK”.

What OK means is — I’ll get up with you. So now it’s 6am and I have a little girl asking for ToastBox for breakfast. Personally, I think that sounds like a great idea. We find one that opens early and head out at 7am. After a relaxing breakfast, I look at the map and realise that her school isn’t too far away. We hop back on the scooter and I take her all the way to school. It gives me a chance to talk with her teachers as well.

When I get home after work, Stormy is as good as she can be. Excitable and happy. She eats all her dinner (with a second helping), has her bath and brushes her teeth. All without complaining. I take the time to read a few extra books with her (for a total of 8 today). She reads a couple of the simple ones herself. Identifying words against pictures and shapes. I have to do more of that.

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.