Day 95

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readApr 26, 2017

This early morning Stormy seems to be becoming a habit. She decides to come out and join me for my 6am video conference. She’s well behaved and I think everyone appreciates the brief interruption. After the call I cook up some porridge for breakfast and then bundle her off to the bus. As I lift her into the bus, she turns to me and says. “I love you daddy” in her most serious voice. My heart melts.

It’s leftovers for dinner tonight. A combination of Nacho’s and Chicken Soup. Don’t ask. Stormy eats well. And by well, I mean, a lot rather than good. She decides to eat with her hands today. When I look at her and I see more dinner on her face than her actual face.

Afterwards it’s time to call Mummy during which she decides to announce that she’s “the leader of us”. To which her mother thoughtfully responds, “I thought I was the leader of us”. Of course, the only person who isn’t the ‘leader of us’ is me.

It goes well until she decides to use the Skype call with Mummy as an excuse not to have a bath. I’m not having any of it and, after a brief tantrum, I get her into the bath and into bed.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 94) | Tomorrow (Day 96) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.