Poster-Notes

Sam McLaren
Digital Dorset
Published in
4 min readMar 12, 2021
Poster Notes title image

As part of my #weeknotechallenge I have decided to challenge myself to doing a different style of weeknotes every week.

The other six are linked below:

It seems like my week notes are becoming a way of channelling things i enjoy and I’m not complaining. Something i am really missing at the moment is the Cinema so today my week notes are inspired by movie posters!

(apologies for the editing i would have taken longer on them but then some people may question how long i spend making my week notes)

Monday

resulted in me having a ‘what am i doing?’ crisis at the start of the week when i couldn’t remember anything from the previous week like some sort of lockdown amnesia. Once i got my head straight i got so into the work i was doing that i ended up having a really late lunch and then crashing.

*would not recommend this

I also spent some time tidying all all my files and sorting them. My files were the equivalent of a teenager’s room with stuff located everywhere. One thing i am absolutely RUBBISH at is naming and sorting files so it has made me so happy to know where things are actually located now.

Tuesday

was all about data. I had a big survey and info from multiple car parks that i needed to sort through and collate as part of a piece of work i am doing for Parking Services.

Thankfully i found it easy to channel my old ICT days and use the blue energy that often remains dormant.

Wednesday

was one of those days where most of it is meetings and you hardly have any time to do the work that comes out of those meetings. Vicky & I have really got into the habit of spending the start of a meeting ‘warming up’ so we don’t jump straight into the action like some meetings do.(Recommend this)

Lisa said in a team meeting earlier in the week about how trying to read all the notifications in teams can be like running around the building trying to hear all the conversations.

I am very guilty of this… (In Teams, running round the building sounds like a lot of effort)

Thursday

involved collating all the work i have done for Parking and creating a Show & Tell. I had a choice in how I wanted to present back my learnings and I felt that a Show & Tell was the best way to do this instead of some report in a template…Blech!

‘Greatest Show & Tell’ might be a bit ambitious but i have been developing a new template for PowerPoints that i think works really well. It’s basically a blend of lots of other templates but a bit less… bland. (feel like comms might have a sniper on me as i speak)

Also a lot of the discovery backs up some of my initial observations. It’s nice to know that i somewhat know what I’m doing!

Friday

was a day of ticking boxes and giving myself a little bit of a clean slate for other pieces next week.

The reason for this movie poster is about a reflection i had. I am naturally a very curious person and that can be a positive and a negative thing.

Being curious is a good thing in Digital because you will always be looking for possibility’s and answers. Being curious to the point of continuing to research or chasing curious but unimportant knowledge will mean you spend far more time then you should. I found myself starting to do this with parking but having a clear list of outcomes helps you pull it back.

Epilogue

Later this evening the Digital team are celebreating some birthdays. We are having a Virtual Pub where we will virtually drink and then feel virtually hungover on saturday.

I have quite a few ideas left to keep the #weeknotechallenge going but i would love some new suggestions so let me know!

See ya next week.

Sam out!

--

--

Sam McLaren
Digital Dorset

Working to promote Dorset as a place to live, work, and visit. DL100 member. Inspiringthefuture volunteer. TED Speaker #SamsBrightIdeas