From ruins to reconstruction: Rupea Fortress

During the 90s, this fortress was nothing more than a stack of ruins.

Eastern Chronicles Team
Eastern Chronicles

--

Located on the road that links two famous Romanian cities — Sighişoara and Braşov — the fortress of Rupea was founded in the 14th century by the Transylvanian Saxons.

Rupea Fortress on map

In Hungarian, the citadel’s name was Kőhalom, meaning “mound of rocks” and referring to its three levels (The Upper, The Middle and The Lower). Historians believe that almost 400 people used to live inside the walls of Rupea Fortress, where they had all the necessities: a parish, a chapel, a local market, a fountain and even a so-called “bacon tower”, where all the meat reserves were stored.

In the 18th century, the citadel slowly lost its importance, most of its inhabitants relocating in the new village situated at the base of the hill. Consequently, by the 1780s, Rupea Fortress, once one of the most important Transylvanian citadels, ended up entirely abandoned. Even if the local community constantly preserved it over decades, by the 1990s, there was nothing but a bunch of ruins.

The ruins of the fortress in 2007 (via)

Two years ago, I heard the news that Rupea Fortress was reopened for visitors, after three years of heavy restoration works. This happened just a few weeks before leaving for a road trip throughout Romania, in order to discover some of the beauties my country has to offer.

Under restoration works in 2012 (via)

So I added Rupea to the map, but once I got there, I had mixed feelings about everything surrounding me. I don’t think it’s a good idea to visit a historic monument immediately after restoration. If I was an expert in the field, I’m sure things would have been different for me.

Rupea Fortress in August 2013 (via)
Me posing as a tourist at Rupea Fortress, in August 2013.

I’m your average typical tourist with an added love for history, so this fortress and its story was a treat for me. But the “new look” and the crisp smell of building materials kept getting in my way and kept me from having a real connection with the place.

On the other hand, the fact that the fortress has been revived was just admirable. In 2013, a restoration project as big as this one was a sign of hope for the Romanian cultural and historical heritage. In fact, this was my conclusion after visiting Rupea Fortress and I was very positive about it.

The fortress in 2014 (via)

Since then, I steadily followed the topic and, as I was expecting, things got better and better. For example, two months ago, I found out that Rupea Fortress had a record number of tourists. It seems that, just after the restoration works, the local authorities expectations were exceeded. In 2013, 61.000 tourists visited the Rupea Fortress. In 2014, there were 115.000 tourists, and in 2015 so far, there are already 150.000.

Rupea Fortress in 2014 (via)

I don’t know when I will have another opportunity to visit Rupea Fortress again, but as a witness of its astonishing evolution, I think it will be an interesting experience. If any of you want to read more about the citadel’s history, here’s a link. And If you ever get in the area and visit it, I would be more than happy to know your impressions.

Written by Alexandra Palconi, an Eastern Europe travel enthusiast.

--

--