Where modern meets traditional: Zadar

A day in one of the most captivating cities in Croatia.

Eastern Chronicles Team
Eastern Chronicles

--

Built around the remains of the Jadera settlement (which dates back to the 2nd century BC), the old city of Zadar is located on the Dalmatian coast of Croatia, surrounded by protective walls and the sea. Even where the city spreads onto an isolated peninsula, it still remains the center of everyday life, so this is the perfect place to start exploring.

Široka ulica/ Kalelarga in Zadar (via)

I walked down the main street, which is officially named Široka ulica, although everyone knows it as Kalelarga. Rarely has any street in the world been glorified through so many songs, and even fewer have their own anthems. Kalelarga then led me to the Forum, which is the main square originally built by the Romans. I sat down for a cup of coffee; Croatians love to drink their morning coffee near the Forum overlooking the sea. There I could just see and feel the history of the place.

While drinking my coffee, I admired the spectacular view of St. Donatus’ Church next to me, which is the symbol of the city and one of its most famous monuments. Constructed in the 9th century, today it is not only used for sacred ceremonies, but also as a concert venue due to its extraordinary acoustics.

Roman forum and St. Donatus’ Church in Zadar (via)

I strolled toward the sea and heard some music, but couldn’t see who was playing it. Soon, I realized I was actually standing on top of the Sea Organ, a system of pipes and holes built so that the sea can create its own music. Sounds unrealistic? Sounds beautiful, I say.

Sea organ/ Morske orgulje (via)

While listening to the beautiful sounds of nature playing, I gazed at the Monument to the Sun, a circle-shaped urban installation made of 300 multilayered glass plates, under which are photovoltaic solar panels. During the day, the sun energizes the solar panels, and after sunset it starts a unique light show.

I experienced what is known worldwide as the perfect spot for observing the sunset in Zadar, with the Sea Organ playing in the background and a light show afterwards.

Monument to the Sun (via)

After all of these thrills, I needed some refreshment — and what’s better than an original Maraschino liqueur, savored in one of the clubs which the alluring nightlife in Zadar offers? This drink is still produced according to a traditional 16th-century recipe. I must say that this was the perfect way to finish my visit to Zadar.

Zadar on map

Written by Vanja Nedić, an Eastern Europe travel enthusiast.

--

--