I nearly lost you

Sabina Masanabo
Emotional Pieces
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2017

I thought I’d never hear your voice again

Or see you smiling at me from a distance.

There’s nothing I can do to make it better.

We were no longer together.

My mind wandered around the lonely streets of sorrow.

Wishing I could just cry and carry on.

Fall to the ground and stand up again.

Yet I lay awake at night. Unable to sleep.

Wishing you could hold me — for one last time.

There’s a thin line between love and hate.

Please don’t say that you hate me.

Tell me that there’s still hope for you and I.

Who can I turn to?

Who can give me the perfect advice on getting you back?

Who could see things from my view?

Or understand me the way you do.

No lie.

Love is a fools emotion.

Not even a fool could show you this much devotion.

For every single thing that I’ve lost in my life. I had you as an ointment for my sore wounds.

How on earth did I ruin the only good thing in my life?

Where did I get the stupidity to do you wrong, my love?

I’ve always hated apologies, I just want things done right.

I want to do you right.

Open up a little more,

Give you more joy and delight.

I want to celebrate our love.

Have candlelit dinners and picnics under the sun.

Be there for you in ways that I couldn’t before, but…

Having good intentions is always not enough.

Lately all we do is bring out our best weapons to fight.

I promised that if you took me back I’d extend my love to the moon.

Last week Saturday when I kissed you, I never thought I’d lose you this afternoon.

I never thought I’d see my life crashing down like faulty air balloon.

Your rejection reminds me of a parachute that wouldn’t open after I jumped from the sky.

I asked God to help me find my way back to you.

In all humbleness I knew in my heart that I couldn’t lose you.

Not again. Not over this!

Not over nonsense we can fix over a phone call or two.

Transplant or not. MY HEART BELONGS TO YOU.

I thought I’d never see your face again.

I thought we were through.

When I got your text…

It was in that moment that I learnt.

To never give up on love because…

Where there’s love, there is always hope.

--

--

Sabina Masanabo
Emotional Pieces

The best things in life are often forgotten. It’s about time we remember…