A Brick Wall

a drabble

Neera Handa Dr
Fiction Shorts

--

Random word (Day 204) friendship, and the twister is the first sentence.

Image created in Night Café by Author

I would have sworn there wasn’t a door there yesterday. Otherwise, I’d have certainly knocked.

I had actually gone to call him back at Alice’s behest. We were going to the movies. But he saw us, Alice and I, holding hands! And had left quickly.

“So, what,” I thought this morning, “Hadn’t I felt green when she had chosen him as her tennis partner?”

Our friendship has to be stronger, after all, he and I go way back, much before this last one month, since when Alice had moved here, coming between us.

I ran to his house. And knocked urgently!

Image created in Night Café by Author

A Drabble is a work of fiction that is exactly 100 words. No more. No less. Here is my story in response to Nancy Oglesby’s Random word for day 204. Here is a link to her post.

Mixed Up July Random Drabble 204. Challenge for Monday, July 22nd | by Nancy Oglesby | Fiction Shorts | Jul, 2024 | Medium

I loved Eko’s drabble about the writer’s lament about no ice cream in the freezer, and what poor people actually care about!

Some of Us Have No Stories. Too busy surviving | by Eko B | Fiction Shorts | Jul, 2024 | Medium

And the masterpiece by Nancy Oglesby herself, the sale of the century, about the Fushia Door!

The Fuchsia Door. Sale of the century | by Nancy Oglesby | Fiction Shorts | Jul, 2024 | Medium

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Fiction Shorts

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.