Jump-Starts — Part 1

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250
Published in
2 min readDec 29, 2019

I had to buy a portable jump-starter to avoid this problem again.

Recently I had to jump-start my vehicle because I carelessly left the interior light illuminated. I know how to jump-start so I didn’t view a dead battery as a setback. Unfortunately, my leads did not reach the parked car so I had to roll it out of the garage.

Photo by Obi Onyeador on Unsplash

I can’t shift to neutral. What? I tried again. Failed.

Modern automatic cars are built for safety and as a result, I can’t shift to neutral with no power. A fundamental feature now gone. So my father and I took an older car battery to do a soft jump-start in order to shift to neutral, then roll the car out for a proper jump-start.

Such complexities in modern cars didn’t exist before. Consequently, I had to buy a portable jump-starter to avoid this problem again.

By the same token, my friend and I were talking about “jump-starts” to overcome personal struggles, specifically depression. While I am largely against SSRIs as the default “solution” for depression, it may be necessary to “jump-start” and reignite the system because it allows for a new window of opportunity to make changes, much like a single pond ripple radiating outwards, touching and subtly moving the entire ecosystem.

Photo by Snappy Shutters on Unsplash

As I reflect about jump-starting my car, I asked myself something, what if mental jump-starts are suffering from the same inherent issues as my vehicle… blind systemic growth of elegant complexities without understanding ugly fundamentals i.e. are SSRIs like my new portable battery jump-starter?

Stay tuned for next week.

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems