Jump-Starts — Part 2

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250
Published in
2 min readJan 5, 2020

I made a mistake.

Last week I wrote about the parallelism between my Subaru battery woes and the use of SSRIs for depression; I raised the concern about how our current approaches are problematic due to our habit of over-solutioning and obfuscating systems (any and all) by which we hide and remove fundamentals.

I shared the previous post with number of people and one colleague indirectly shared a different perspective. He told me about how he went on YouTube and found a video for his car about how to shift to neutral with modern starter systems.

Photo by Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

I made a mistake. I wrongly assumed how my car works and asserted that manufacturers threw out the fundamentals. It’s rather the implementation of fundamentals that are now different.

I asked the wrong questions. The answer was available with the right set of questions. Instead of asking “why”, I should’ve asked “how”.

Over some years, some new notable books popped up regarding life’s fundamentals and how they touch on human wellbeing: Jordan Peterson’s 12 Principles of Life and Johann Hari’s Lost Connections. Both works establish core fundamentals on the human condition from their own perspectives, learnings, and experiences; the former being rooted more academically and professionally. Further, the authors applied their fundamentals specifically for the modernity.

Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

It was immediately clear to me, just like my battery gaffe epiphany, we are simply asking the wrong questions.

So, what questions do we need to ask?

That one; because it leads to help.

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
fiftytwo250

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems