Top Stories From February

FWRD
FWRD
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

4 min readMar 2, 2017

February was a really very interesting much for us, we hit another milestone of 2,000 followers on Medium (Thank-you for staying with us throughout this mission 😊), we launched our Instagram; Instagram.com/FWRD, you can read more here:

Here’s our top stories of the last month:

Moonlight — when men’s stars align

By Judiniho

“Star signs, stereotypes and genders roles assigned over time climb into view as Moonlight shines upon a young mans mental wounds. Moonlight’s journey, broken into three acts, is packed with a reasonable sentiment. A strong motion within the film is unease, though Moonlight is a fantastic spectacle which is built to a captivating degree.” Read more..

Grandma Voted Leave. I Didn’t.

By Stein.

“My gran and I sat down the other day to talk about life, politics, spirituality — usual things; when the subject pivoted from Trump and America, to the UK and Brexit. Reason always wins over sheer emotion. Because unless you’re an obvious racist, fuck Farage and fuck UKIP. Right?

Well, no. (Shocker). This assumption was stupid, baseless and ultimately dangerous.” Read more..

Dealing with emotional abuse

By NEO

“I’ve come across a lot of people talking about the signs of emotional abuse when it comes to intimate relationships. However, you never really realise these signs until you’re completely out of the situation and are able to fully digest what you’ve been going through.” Read more..

Being Black, Female & Depressed

By tinkerbell ✨

“I have had what has felt like the longest day today but all I wanted to do when I arrived home was write. Such urges have become uncommon for me in recent times and so I grabbed the opportunity with both hands.

I suffer from mental illness, as will 1 in 4 people in the UK each year. I am also a Black woman.” Read more..

How a change in strategy changed my life

By Charles Etienne

“I remember a few occasions during 2nd year just staring at my laptop screen, feeling overwhelmed by the 5+ empty text boxes on the online application form that all require a minimum of 250 words and thinking to myself… F**k this!” Read more..

Clue: Tracking your period as a holistic self-caring practice.

By Authentic Duplicate.

“I won’t even lie to you guys, up until the age of about 18, telling when my next period would be was kind of a spidey-senses thing.

At the time I couldn’t give you dates or numbers, but I could tell you “it’s about to come” and “it’s about to finish.” To be honest that was pretty accurate, you can definitely feel and see the signs in your body once they’re no longer new to you.” Read more..

Streaming wars: The precarious position of Spotify

By Afo

“The Swedish company have been riding high and are giving Silicon Valley veterans a run for their money. But something tells me that this can’t continue.

Spotify went to market in 2008 and an inside source informed me that they hired Raven to look into the future of music consumption. One would have you believe that their competitors are playing catch up, I’m going to show you why Spotify are in fact the chasing pack.” Read more..

How video games shaped my musical palette

By Chinny Ukata

“I’ve always liked to think of myself of having a wide-ranging musical taste. I’ll easily go from singing my heart out to the The Kooks to rapidly fist pumping in time to Migos. I’m always curious as to what and indeed how this range came about — although regular doses of Radio 1, MySpace Music and pirate radio stations as a teenager probably gave a helping hand.” Read more..

Remember to follow us on instagram! www.instagram.com/fwrdnow/

--

--