An Exhibition to Revive Your Soul

Paintings to inspire hope, courage and freedom.

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery
2 min readSep 19, 2020

--

Hope, original painting, acrylic on linen, 100 x 100cm (photo by author)

What is the colour of hope?

I created this artwork on a Monday, during a difficult season. I was tired, out of art supplies and discouraged, but I had to paint. I had to find what hope felt like to me.

Hope is not accepting things as they are, but having an adamant belief that things will get better.
Read more

Courage, acrylic on linen, 100 x 100cm & Freedom, mixed media collage, 50 x 50cm, original paintings (photo by author)

What does courage look like?

I read somewhere that orange is the colour of courage. Courage is what soldiers need to fight in the war and what pushes firefighters into burning buildings to save lives, but sometimes courage can be the strength to face tomorrow.

Sometimes courage is simply the strength to get out of bed and face today.
Read more

Finding Freedom

What does it mean to be free?
I have never been one to fit the status quo. I have always seemed to be out of place. Well, that is how I have felt. We are who we are, and this is who I am. It has taken a long while for me to realise the greatest gift we can give ourselves is self-acceptance.
Read more

Froyle Davies
I’ve been a visual artist for over 25 years, and now I tell my stories.
Thanks for reading — click here to receive a free phone wallpaper of my art.

--

--

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com