Hope

Though we fall, we will yet arise; hope keeps believing.

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

--

Hope, acrylic on linen, 100 x 100cm, 2010 (photo by author)

This is my painting of hope, an abstract expressionist style, I created this for myself as a physical representation of encouragement. It was on a Monday, during a difficult season. I was tired, out of art supplies and discouraged, but I had to paint. I had to create.

I had to find from within myself the strength to believe that things would get better. The composition came together as I emptied pots of paint and squeezed out the last remnants of colour. I used everything I had, in both energy and paint.

Hope is not accepting things as they are, but having an adamant belief that things will get better.

When I had finished the painting and stood back to look at it, I was truly amazed at how beautiful it was, and I realised that hope is a tangible reality.

From all the hundreds of paintings over the past 25 years, this is one of my favourites. Maybe, because it is so beautiful and it was created during adversity, or maybe because it represents so clearly who I am as a person and an artist.

Though we fall, we will yet arise; hope keeps believing.

Hope is the life we live, the attitude we carry, the gift we give others…

--

--

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com