5 Crucial Habits That Can Make Your Relationship Healthier

How to communicate, fight fair, respect your needs, and more.

Ashley Broadwater
Hello, Love

--

A man hugs a woman from behind. Both are smiling. #relationship #dating #love #healthyrelationship #happy
Photo by J carter on Pexels

I’m currently in a happy and healthy relationship, but I haven’t always been.

Many (or most) of my relationships before had many unhealthy aspects. I remember previous partners breaking my boundaries and me letting them. I remember always wondering if I was doing the right thing and worrying if the other person liked me. I experienced both “breadcrumbing” and “paperclipping,” which are dating phenomenons that essentially entail using another person.

Unsurprisingly, I had a lot of relationship-related anxiety. I didn’t treat myself well because I focused so much on others’ approval, and I allowed other people to mistreat me, too.

But now that I’ve learned more about what a healthy relationship looks like from a loving partner and time in therapy, I’m passionate about sharing those tips with others. Keep reading for five habits that can improve your relationship and make you and your partner happier in it.

1. Be Honest About Your Feelings

As a non-confrontational person, I hate conflict. I hate telling people they’ve hurt me, especially if I feel like I’m just being “too sensitive.” I’m also scared…

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
Hello, Love

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater