RECOMMENDED READING 2019

Henry Mascot
Henry IfeanyiChukwu Mascot
5 min readJan 30, 2019

2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021

“Reading is essential for those who seek to rise above the ordinary.” — Jim Rohn

In 2019 I didn’t read as many books as the year before.

I decided to read them slowly and focus on high-quality reads.

I had less time to read due to a change in my commute routine (50% of the time I listen to books while driving).

Here are my top 5 books for the year 2019.

1. Super Pumped: The Battle for Uber by Mike Isaac

From Amazon

A New York Times technology correspondent presents the dramatic story of Uber, the Silicon Valley startup at the center of one of the great venture capital power struggles of our time.

This is a powerful book, shocked me to how aggressive Uber’s execution was.

Shows what it took them to disrupt the cab business.

Highly recommended

2. Hold Me Tight: 7 Conversations for a Lifetime of Love by Dr Sue Johnson

In Hold me Tight, Dr. Sue Johnson presents Emotionally Focused Therapy to the general public for the first time. Johnson teaches that the way to save and enrich a relationship is to reestablish safe emotional connection and preserve the attachment bond. With this in mind, she focuses on key moments in a relationship-from Recognizing the Demon Dialogue to Revisiting a Rocky Moment-and uses them as touchpoints for seven healing conversations. Through case studies from her practice, illuminating advice, and practical exercises, couples will learn how to nurture their relationships and ensure a lifetime of love.

3. Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill

Think and Grow Rich has been called the “Granddaddy of All Motivational Literature.” It was the first book to boldly ask, “What makes a winner?” The man who asked and listened for the answer, Napoleon Hill, is now counted in the top ranks of the world’s winners himself.

The most famous of all teachers of success spent “a fortune and the better part of a lifetime of effort” to produce the “Law of Success” philosophy that forms the basis of his books and that is so powerfully summarized in this one.

4. The Prosperity Paradox by Clayton Christensen, Efosa Ojomo

Global poverty is one of the world’s most vexing problems. For decades, we’ve assumed smart, well-intentioned people will eventually be able to change the economic trajectory of poor countries. From education to healthcare, infrastructure to eradicating corruption, too many solutions rely on trial and error. Essentially, the plan is often to identify areas that need help, flood them with resources, and hope to see change over time.

But hope is not an effective strategy.

Clayton M. Christensen and his co-authors reveal a paradox at the heart of our approach to solving poverty. While noble, our current solutions are not producing consistent results, and in some cases, have exacerbated the problem.

5. The Startup Of You: Adapt to the Future, Invest in Yourself, and Transform Your Career by Reid Hoffman

This book isn’t about cover letters or resumes. Instead, you will learn the best practices of Silicon Valley start-ups, and how to apply these entrepreneurial strategies to your career. Whether you work for a giant multinational corporation, a small local business, or launching your own venture, you need to know how to:

* Adapt your career plans as you change, the people around you change, and industries change.
* Develop a competitive advantage to win the best jobs and opportunities.
* Strengthen your professional network by building powerful alliances and maintaining a diverse mix of relationships.
* Find the unique breakout opportunities that massively accelerate career growth.
* Take proactive risks to become more resilient to industry tsunamis.
* Tap your network for information and intelligence that help you make smarter decisions.

The Rest

12 Rules of Life, An Antidote to Chaos — I didn’t know Jordan Peterson till a few months ago, and his ideas have been very enriching to me. This is his second book. In this book, he lists 12 principles which he links to the old testament principles that if we keep should help us keep our lives in order.

Bold— I try to read this book every year because it inspires me to aim higher. It provides a sample to compare my business goals and visions with. The ideas in it are always inspiring, it admonishes entrepreneurs and managers to think 10x. If you don’t think 10x your business will miss out on the future.

How to Win Friends and Influence People — This is the best book I have read on human relations. It always shakes me each time I read it, and I have read it for 3 years consecutively. This book was written decades ago, but the principles in it are just timeless.

No more Mr Nice Guy — This book has had an effect on me that I didn’t see coming. As I was reading about “The Nice Guy Syndrome” I could relate some of my behaviours to it and I didn’t like what I saw in the mirror.
I got me to swiftly move into action, and decide to assert myself more, please others less and form stronger bonds with fellow men.

How to Sell Yourself, by Arch Lustberg

Unspoken: Feelings of a Gentleman I by Pierre Alex Jeanty

Unspoken: Feelings of a Gentleman II by Pierre Alex Jeanty

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

HER Pierre by Alex Jeanty

Dollars and Sense: How We Misthink Money and How to spend Smarter Dan by Ariely and Jeff Kreisler

Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki

Powers of Two by Joshua Wold Shenk

The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale

The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey

Principles by Ray Dalio

Ego is the Enemy by Ryan Holiday

The Laws of Human Nature by Robert Greene

The Courage to be disliked by Ichiro Kishimi & Fumitake Koga Philosophy

Blitzscaling by Reid Hoffman

Photo by Jason Wong on Unsplash

I send out a weekly newsletter aimed at helping you grow.

Signup and 3 articles, a TED talk, and a book that I curated myself to add Value.

--

--