Her Outlette’s Friday Roundup — 12.21.18

Delmarshae Walker
Her Outlette
Published in
6 min readDec 21, 2018

Can you believe it’s already the Friday before Christmas? Well, before we get ready to indulge in the busy weekend and do some last minute shopping, let’s take a moment and remember how important we are with some self care. And if you’re in need of some personal pampering, check out this lady boss who created a vegan luxury nail lacquer — yasssss to protecting your nails!

I’m seriously getting anxiety thinking about all the last minute shopping I still need to do. But lets not get distracted. So much happened this week like; Pinterest going public, there’s been a lot of violence against women, and Disney announced the new cast of Aladdin.

Let’s take a moment, pour up, sit back and catch up on all of the tea from this week!

Cheers,

Shae

Violence against women

Monet Victoria: Most people are oblivious to the level of violence against women in Central America. This is part of the reason there are so many people fleeing to the border to find safety in the U.S.

Pinterest plans to goes public

Monet Victoria: Pinterest is taking their business to the next level and finally going public. I had no idea that favorite skimming app was also loved amongst 250 million other users monthly. I’ll definitely be watching as this unfolds.

Lynching is now officially a Federal Crime

Meliabia: If you haven’t heard, the US passed first anti-lynching law after a unanimous senate vote. I am so glad we were able to come together on this issue *rolls eyes*. HELLO!! But… this is America….

The New Aladdin Movie

Jasmine Mitchell: Entertainment Weekly magazine featured Disney’s new cast of Aladdin on it’s newest issue. I’m not sure what’s going on with this influx of updated movies from my childhood, but I’m 100 percent here for it! Let’s just say this one is definitely for the adults too, although the first movie had quite a bit of innuendo, even for a Disney movie.

Hot Jafar

Kellé Whitney: If you’re a fan of Disney’s Aladdin like me, you’re excited about the live action version coming out in May. But um… is it just me or has Jafar transformed into a hot Arabian zaddy compared to his to his skinny, middle aged and bitter cartoon predecessor!?

New Year, Who This

Delmarshae Walker: The New Year is right around the corner, and with that being said, it might be time to update your passwords. With so many hackers on the rise, I try to change my email and phone passwords at least every 6 months. If you do make changes, just try not to use the worst passwords in 2018.

Recession On The Rise

Delmarshae Walker: There’s been recent conversation that a recession will hit us hard in 2019, latest 2020. I might need to find some side hustles to stay afloat.

Foul on the Play

RikkieJ: NFL player, Josh Gordon has been suspended indefinitely for violating the terms of his conditional reinstatement under the Policy and Program for Substances of Abuse. Some are asking if the issue is the NFL’s drug policy, not Gordon.

Michelle’s Obama’s Boots!

RikkieJ: The former First Lady Michelle Obama just wrapped up the final stop of her book tour in STYLE! For her discussion with Sarah Jessica Parker, the former First Lady rocked the Glitter Knife-Over The Knee Boot by Balenciaga. Despite Retailing at $3,900, reports say this boot has almost sold out since photos flooded social media! Talk about trendsetter.

Gun Control…Sort Of

Kellé Whitney: This week the Trump administration banned the sale of bump stocks. Refresher: bump stocks allow semi automatics to operate like machine guns. Why a civilian would ever need a machine gun like weapon? No fucking clue, but they’re now a no-go. It’s a step toward the direction of sensible gun laws, but let’s face it, it’s still easier to legally get a gun than it is to get a driver’s license. Let that sink in.

Baby Teeth

Meliabia: This is the title to a horrific devilish book, by Zoje Stage, that when I first started I put it down and exclaimed “NOT TAHDAY SATAN”. I’m reading this with my virtual book club, so I had to finish. And man it is so so good!! It’s about a mute child who tries to kill her mother… I know WTF. Same. If you like murder mysteries check this out ASAP!

The Laws Of Human Nature

Delmarshae Walker: Since this week has been focused on (self care), this book will definitely help uplift your spirits. The Law of Human Nature provides a lot of perspective on life, our daily interactions with others and how to overcome the fear of failure.

Spotify loves me

Monet Victoria: I love how Spotify uses my top listened tracks of the year to craft my top songs of 2018. I’ve been listening off and on, and reminiscing.

Stumble and Fall

Meliabia: As a women who can only walk from the line to the chair in heels this video took me out. Watch as this person completely CRASHES trying to be sexual chocolate in million inch heels.

Offset Invades Cardi’s Set

Delmarshae Walker: So Offset decided to show up to Cardi’s performance and surprise her with “an apology” and asked her to take him back. Romantic gesture or complete embarrassment? From the looks of it, Cardi was not feeling his surprise.

Last minute shopper

Monet Victoria: Of course I have a lot of last minute shopping to do. I’m buying so stocking stuffers and one or two major gifts. Wish me luck as I hit the stores this weekend.

Texas

Delmarshae Walker: I’m traveling to Houston this weekend to turn up with my boyfriend and his family. I’m really looking forward to the warm weather and relaxation. It will be in the high 60’s all weekend.

Coast to Coast

RikkieJ: The next two days of my life will be spent in airports. I’m flying to Cali to pick up my niece and little sisters then we’re flying to Florida for the holidays. I have been chosen as the designated adult to avoid. My niece is three so this shall be interesting…

Support Black Colleges

Meliabia: I have so much Christmas shopping to do, as in the only thing I have bought are some HBCU shirts for my entire family from Support Black Colleges. We all graduated from amazing HBCU’s on the east coast, and I love this shop because, they are constantly coming out with new designs to keep me FAMU-FLy.

Mixing it up: Jingle Juice

Kellé Whitney: Not cooking, but mixing up this delicious Christmas punch, Jingle Juice.

--

--