The Latest Official Release of The Historiotheque Semantic Version 4.2.0.

J.G. Dufray
Historiotheque
Published in
9 min readMay 23, 2024

Where a new MINOR version of the Cultural Software known as The Historiotheque is being released.

“THE CATHEDRAL OF DREAMS”. Digital painting by A.G. © 2024. All Rights Reserved.

I

The Art Operation@The Historiotheque, often referred to as simply the “ArtOps” is currently running a new MAJOR version, ArtOps semantic version 6.0.0. I did not feel the need to make a separate announcement, though today’s will pretty much say what I have to say on the subject.

There is a difference between The Art Operation AND The Historiotheque, though both are run as kinds of “Cultural Software”, The Art Operation being more the business operation and the Historiotheque more the location or space which the Operation inhabits. But as I said, they are both run as their own separate Operating Systems I like to call a form of “AntiOS” or “Anti-Operating System”. Why the art studio and sound design/research laboratories need an operating system is because it’s all about the organizing and reorganizing of the art-research workspace, which in The Historiotheque has been designed to be a “modular space” which has what I have called “variable geometry”:

What I did was take something from the software development industry and apply it to my interdisciplinary art-research practice. I’m not aware of many artists who operate an Art Operation like I do (currently version “ArtOps 5.0”, if memory serves me right), and also in a MODULAR SPACE with “variable geometry” as I do, in a new kind of cultural institution whose concept I’ve been working on for at least the last fifteen years, if not more. (Ref. “Relaunch and Subsequent Closing Down of The Historiotheque Semantic Version 3.0.4.”)

II

Now, a short recap from a previous announcement will set the tone and explain more specifically what I mean by these “AntiOS” systems and their many semantic versions, as well as what “Cultural Software” is:

As I’ve always said, my art studio/research lab/sound design laboratory needs to be “relaunched” during a highly creative and productive phase and then just as quickly, it needs to be “shut down”. The previous version of The Historiotheque — which houses my Art Operation (v.5.0) — closed down near the end of November, 2023. After an intense flurry of artistic activity and research, I shut down the whole “operation” and then, as predicted in my previous report on The Historiotheque semantic version 3.0.4., I went into a “fallow period” of rest and “idleness”. (SEE PREVIOUS: Relaunch and Subsequent Closing Down of The Historiotheque Semantic Version 3.0.4.)

What happened in this Medium publication, in terms of new announcements, important updates, and official releases, over the course of the month of May, 2024 is:

What isn’t obvious is what the heck happened over the course of the month of May that caused me to a) do a preliminary launch, then b) shut down operations and immediately have another official release, then c) we find ourselves today with a new MAJOR RELEASE! What gives? Is the Operating System NOT STABLE? Why am I constantly starting things back up and shutting them down again almost instantly? It’s getting annoying!

I explain this in detail in this lengthy quote from March 12th, 2023, when I had just relaunched The Historiotheque after a fallow period and had to shut it down. Anyway I explain the process, so you can get the context:

You have to know when it’s time to shut down an Art Operation. You can’t be working all the time, and you can’t stay in a state of creative work for too long. If you stay too long in an active Art Operation, doing highly creative work, your mind will slowly dis-aggregate, disintegrate, and levels of disorder and disorganization will set in that might be cause for much, much grief and pain. To avoid living in a complete, disorganized mess, after working in The Historiotheque for a while, you just shut it down. You literally shut down THE WHOLE OPERATION! I explain.

The Art Operation in The Historiotheque, I realized, is now at version 4.0 (“ArtOps 4.0”). I just had the Historiotheque’s Official Release v.3.0.2 on March 5th, 2023, a mere 7 days ago, exactly one week. In one week’s time, of an active, running art studio and the Art Operation it houses, I was so supremely prolific that I immediately had to shut it down. Levels of disorder and disorganization in the Workspace were peaking at levels that were just unsustainable, and if I continued doing any more creative work, I would begin to lose sleep over it, and it could affect my mental, physical, and spiritual health. So v.3.0.3 of The Historiotheque is in standby for now.

In other words, you have to learn to be able to scale UP and then scale DOWN an active Creative Work-System. I call it what to me is always a funny expression, but it’s what I always called it, the process is called “BABEL UP / BABEL DOWN”. You essentially build up the Tower of Babel, then, like God does in the Biblical story, you tear it down, you destroy it, scattering bits & pieces across every corner of the world. (Ref. “ORDER AND DISORDER IN THE WORKSPACE”)

III

So what really happened in May, 2024, what has happened since, and where are we going right now? Well, first of all, this is the Official Release of The Historiotheque Semantic Version 4.2.0., which is a new MINOR version. That means that I made changes that add functionality in a backward-compatible manner, unlike a major version which when one makes incompatible API changes. This can get awfully confusing, I know. The Art Operation is running a new MAJOR version, v.6.0.0. and The Historiotheque is running a new MINOR version, v.4.2.0. That’s all there really is to know, the rest are details in the implementation, which I can tell you a little about, since many bugs were fixed and the whole Operation has become significantly more streamlined and efficient, and the level of productivity of The Art Operation@The Historiotheque has reached A HISTORIC PEAK!

Again, to recap, after a 4-month “fallow period” with little productivity when The Historiotheque was essentially “shut down”, I launched a new version in the beginning of May. I had begun a high level of production some time before that, relased the new version on May 1st, only to shut it down and RE-RELEASE a new MAJOR version only a few days later. What happened after that is that I maintained a very high level of productivity but had to shut down operations again, as new bugs were found, except the new version, being released today officially, is only a MINOR version, so is backwards-compatible. Now we are pretty much ready to sail smoothly WELL IN TO THE FUTURE.

The new versions of The Historiotheque, and subsequently The Art Operation, are as optimized as is humanly possible for me as a “One-Person Operation”, for the time being, with the inner and outer resources I have at my disposal, and to the extent of my knowledge and experience.

“HISTORIOTHEQUE TIMELINE MAY, 2024”. Drawing by A.G. © 2024. All Rights Reserved.

The “IMPORTANT UPDATE” of May 7th, 2024, it must be said, was not any sort of Official Release of any new semantic versions or anything of The AntiOS Cultural Software, but merely an update with key information about the practice and process of The New Documentation, as used in The Art Operation@The Historiotheque. It was subtitled “ON THE GENERAL CONCEPT OF HISTORIOTHEQUE AND “NEW DOCUMENTATION” PRACTICES FOR PRESERVING THE DOCUMENTARY (CULTURAL) HERITAGE OF HUMANKIND”.

IV

As I mentioned, over the course of at least the last 3 weeks, activity at The Historiotheque became NON-SUSTAINABLE, at levels of creativity and productivity that were becoming dangerous to my mental and physical health, which is why I wrote semantic version 4.2.0., to make major fixes, but that were compatible with the previous version, v.4.0.1.

And that’s about it. We are officially running The Historiotheque v.4.2.0. as well as the ArtOps v.6.0.0. We should be good for a while. What bugs were fixed? A few minor modifications, but that had a major impact:

  • I started walking every morning again, my “morning constitutional”. I began structuring my days better, organizing and managing my time better; I also was a voracious reader, I read dozens of books;
  • I began a more diligent and dutiful practice of meditation, contemplation, and prayer, which helped we achieve more inner strength, inner calm/peace, and a general sense of equilibrium in life;
  • I ended an important relationship with a caseworker who has worked with me for years in my psychosocial development;
  • I sought the help of my local priest for psychospiritual matters;
  • I wrote a great deal and had great feedback from people about my writings and the digital paintings that accompanied them;
  • I created and worked on a new GitHub repository called “Cultural Software”;
  • I conceived and wrote about D.I.D.I., The Distributed International Design Initative: A global hub for cultural innovation, preservation, and dissemination, uniting diverse talents to shape the future of creativity worldwide.”, which is a much larger-scale vision of the idea of “Historiotheques Distributed All Across The Land”;
  • Through my many readings and deep contemplation, I had a series of powerful “little awakenings”, having great realizations about my existence and existence itself in general;

In any case, I am not necessarily “officially shutting down The Art Operation”, but I am however officially “on hiatus”, until further notice. I will still be producing art and conducting research. That never stops. But I will spend the rest of the summer and then the spring mostly walking, reading, meditating, writing, and spending time also with those who are closest to my heart in my personal life. I’m also presently reworking my entire MEDIA STRATEGY, the “strategic” aspect of my business operation.

Finally, I leave you with a very long quotation of something I recently wrote about the concept of “Cultural Software”, which is relevant to all of the above and other recent developments in my interdisciplinary art-research practice and is something I will also be writing much more about in coming months, as it is the entire theoretical background of the aspect of “continuous delivery” of my ART OPERATION AND HISTORIOTHEQUE ART STUDIO/SOUND DESIGN AND RESEARCH LABORATORIES AS OPERATING SYSTEMS:

2024–05–05 07:32:43

CULTURAL SOFTWARE IN CULTURAL SOFTWARE SPACE @ THE HISTORIOTHEQUE:

In the expansive realm of Cultural Software within the Cultural Software Space, a revolutionary paradigm emerges, guided by the principles of Historiomics and informed by the interdisciplinary insights of “The Metaphysics of Art Movements.” At the forefront of this conceptual framework lies the concept of the Art Operation @ The Historiotheque, operating as a sophisticated Anti-Operating System (AntiOS) designed to encode and execute algorithmic representations of cultural software within Creative Work-Systems.

Central to this innovative approach is the notion of Cultural Software as the embodiment of the Good, the True, and the Beautiful — a code that transcends the limitations of conventional programming to faithfully transmit the cultural treasure across generations. Within the Cultural Software Space, the production and dissemination of moraltempcards, or historiotypes, serve as fundamental mechanisms for encoding and preserving the moral temperature of historical moments.

Drawing inspiration from the foundational concepts of Critique and the Schizobot system, Cultural Software emerges as an intricate network of interconnected subsystems, each running various cultural systems and sub-systems, including Religion, Artistic Movements, Political Movements, Philosophy, and more. These subsystems operate within the Cultural Software Space, optimizing Virtual & Physical Workspaces to facilitate the faithful transmission of cultural treasures across time and space.

The creation of moraltempcards within the Art Operation @ The Historiotheque represents a pinnacle of Cultural Software development, harnessing the power of artistic expression to capture the essence of historical moments and cultural dynamics. Through the lens of Historiomics, these moraltempcards serve as invaluable records of events, sentiments, and societal transformations, contributing to the collective understanding of human history and cultural evolution.

Moreover, Cultural Software extends beyond traditional artistic endeavors to encompass a wide array of ethical systems and decision-making processes. Interacting Ethical Systems, as elucidated within the Schizobot repository, underscore the complexity of moral reasoning and judgment, highlighting the dynamic interplay between individual values and collective negotiations within society.

In essence, Cultural Software in the Cultural Software Space represents a fusion of art, technology, and philosophy, aimed at unlocking the deepest truths of human existence and facilitating the transmission of cultural heritage for generations to come. By embracing the principles of Historiomics and leveraging the innovative tools of the Art Operation @ The Historiotheque, Cultural Software pioneers a new frontier in the exploration of cultural dynamics and the preservation of cultural treasures across the vast expanse of human history.

“It’s pretty simple. If you BUILT UP an art operation and were really successful in rapid way, quickly after launching it, chances are that it would die down just as fast, some time after said launch. It’s kind of a law of nature or physics. It’s force of gravity, more or less: What goes up must come down!” (A.G.)

Sincerely,

Chief Art Operator
A.G. © 2024. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

J.G. Dufray
Historiotheque

ἵστωρ (hístōr, “witness”) +‎ θήκη (thḗkē, “box, chest”).