I Know You’re Busy Too

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd
Published in
5 min readDec 30, 2021

--

“For what is your friend that you would seek him with hours to kill? Seek him always with hours to live.” — Khalil Gibran, The Prophet

Post #17 of #20: I am reflecting on twenty years of personal and professional experiences in Birmingham and beyond. Visit www.medium.com/HonestlyEd to read the full #20For20 series.

As I consider the major themes of my personal and professional life over the past 20 years, I couldn’t help but notice busyness as a major feature. Not just productive busy.

The kind of busy that creates blind spots, inspires resentments and misses otherwise obvious opportunities.

I have been too busy.

I know you have been busy too.

I originally wrote the post below prior to start of this series, but thought it appropriate to re-share it in consideration of year-end reflections and revelry as well as another pandemic-mandated pause to everyday life.

So, pause, read, and if you are not too busy, please share this post with a friend.

Originally posted April 7, 2020

“I know you’re busy…”

This has been one of the most common phrases directed at me over the past few years. And, if I’m totally honest, I’ve used the phrase a few times too.

--

--

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd

Insights, revelry, and beauty from an essayist, poet, and civic strategist.