All That Jazz 2 starring John DeVore. Photo: FanFivePhotoshops

Hello. This Is My Last Post On Humungus. Thanks For Reading

Bye-bye, my love, goodbye.

John DeVore
Humungus
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2022

--

Three and a half years ago, I pitched Medium an idea for a publication that they greenlit and co-produced.

I called it Humungus. I was the editor. I wanted Humungus to be a conversation about masculinity and pop culture written by and for anyone who identifies as a man or has ever met one. I also wanted to write articles about everything that interested me, like enchiladas and musicals and the interconnected complexities of human relationships.

For the first few months of the project, I hired and published writers I admire, like Jude Ellison S. Doyle, Sara Benincasa, Jordan Hoffman, and Zaron Burnett III. To name a few.

Then came the first of many pivots: I reimagined Humungus as a personal blog where I would continue writing about movies, TV, and feelings.

I wrote my heart out for Humungus. I wrote about sex and sobriety and Wesley Snipes in Blade II. There were essays I could only have published on Humungus: pieces about body image and aging, and family. I wrote silly pieces. I wrote about Star Wars. I gave advice. I wrote dozens of 150 word movie reviews and regularly recommended the best TV shows I was streaming.

--

--

John DeVore
Humungus

I created Humungus, a blog about pop culture, politics, and feelings. Support the madness: https://johndevore.medium.com/subscribe