Quotes About the Boob Tube for World Television Day

Because every day is a TV day

Kiki Wellington
I quote, therefore I am.

--

A wall of several old television screens. (quotes, quotations, World Television Day, TV, television)
Photo by scanrail on DepositPhotos

Since television was invented, people have been pontificating about how the medium affects society. Is there too much violence on television? Too much sex? Does it encourage children to eat too much sugar or act out in antisocial ways? These questions have been part of an ongoing debate that will probably not be resolved any time soon. But what the pontificators do agree on is that television does have some influence on society, which is why the United Nations made November 21 World Television Day. These quotes tackle the influence of television, for better or for worse.

1. “Watching television is like taking black spray paint to your third eye.”
-Bill Hicks

2. “Did you ever get the feeling that the world was a tuxedo and you were a pair of brown shoes?”
-George Gobel

3. “TV is bigger than any story it reports. It’s the greatest teaching tool since the printing press.”
-Fred W. Friendly

4. “The best thing on television the other night was a meadowlark on my neighbor’s antenna.”
-William D. Tammeus

5. “On Friday night, I was reading my new book, but my brain got tired, so I…

--

--