Breaking the Stigma

if me editors
if me
Published in
4 min readMar 19, 2017

By: bee mtz

Inclusion is the way…

Content warning: mental illness stigma

I hear and use the phrase “break the stigma” all the time. For me, it’s about owning what I perceive as a flaw and declaring it flawsome. It means that when the scars from my self-hurting recovery show, I can talk about it openly.

Breaking the stigma means, that I am a psychologist and mental health blogger, period; not a psychologist and mental health blogger who has their own mental health struggle. I’m not saying that my struggles are not relevant. I’m saying, for this particular purpose, they shouldn’t matter as much the work I’m doing.

Thinking critically, we understand that sometimes our favorite singer releases a song we loathe. I read somewhere that if there’s a tornado, an architect’s house will be torn down… Because, singer and architect aren’t perfect, not even on their craft, but they’re always human. So are you, so am I, so is everyone.

Source

And, believe it or not, this is what I thought about when contemplating the topic of inclusivity. A lot of us are trying to break the stigma by waving our flag and opening the path for those in our own niche. That’s only natural. However, let’s flip the script for a second and focus on The Other.

We all have struggles, some heavier than others, yet all of them are valid. When we accept that and help others with their burden, we become more empathetic. So, here’s a thought… what are we doing for those whose struggle is different than ours?

Source

Am I educating myself on issues that are not directly affecting me?

Here are a few places to start…

Am I advocating for causes that are not near and dear to my heart?

Take a look at these campaigns…

Am I devoting my resources to help reduce a stigma I’m not associated with?

These organizations need you…

  • ADAA informs the public about anxiety, depression, OCD, PTSD, and related disorders and their treatments.
  • Bipolar UK supports everyone affected by bipolar, including carers, families, and loved ones.
  • You know the importance of body positivity. Eating Disorder Hope promotes ending eating disordered behavior, embracing life and pursuing recovery.
  • Be a volunteer for Crisis Text Line, help people understand the power of choices.
  • Advocate for the mental health of women of color with Brown Sisters Speak.
  • Join our open source If Me. We are always looking for volunteers to help us grow!
Source

I believe it’s our duty to find common ground on empathy, not only on fighting for our own causes. That would be limiting. I believe caring for others is building bridges, and inviting others into our life is enriching it. I believe behind everything we do, there is the potential to connect and it’s up to us how far to reach, and that from as far as we reach, we will reap what we sow.

So, #breakthestigma, sister, brother, friend. But not only yours. Not ours. Not mine. Follow, invite and include those who the community frowns upon. Lend a hand to the one you don’t understand. Give it time. Advocate for those whom someone else wouldn’t acknowledge as worthy of support…

Be an Ally today.

You can use our site if-me.org to share with loved ones your mental health experiences and plan out strategies to tackle them. We’re an open source organization run by volunteers.

--

--

if me editors
if me
Editor for

Open source mental health communication app to share your stories with loved ones. Available in several languages including Spanish! New contributors welcome 💜