Reader Feedback Request via an Online Poll

Dilemma: Should I Trust Faulty AI to Restore My 20-Year-Old Facebook Account?

I’m unsure whether I should lose 1800 nostalgic friends and links to a million+ story links I shared on my Facebook sites and groups or take the risk of giving personally identifiable data to questionable Facebook AI.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readJul 22, 2024

--

Photo by emre keshavarz from Pexels

3 August 2024: Facebook restored my account and apologized for the inconvenience. It was all AI's fault, as usual.

Four days ago, I faced an unexpected shock with Facebook, a platform I have relied on for personal and professional purposes since its inception.

My admiration for Facebook was so profound that I featured Mark Zuckerberg multiple times as one of the influential leaders of the century in my leadership workshops and academic publications, part of my ethnographic studies during my postdoctoral fellowship and adjunct professorship at Australian universities.

I have documented the unfolding events and my initial reactions in a story titled “Why Facebook Suspended My 20-Year-Old Account Abruptly: The Impact of Tagging Meta Staff to Address an AI Error After Sharing a Medium Story…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com