So you want to build a hardware company,

Sara Chipps
Jewelbots Ink
Published in
4 min readJul 19, 2016

--

and you’re a software engineer….(Part 6)

Part 1: Prototyping

Part 2: Debugging

Part 3: User Testing

Part 4: Proving Traction

Part 5: Design for Manufacturing

Part 6: Manufacturing

A few weeks ago I had a call with a brilliant woman who is starting a hardware company. Knowing I’ve been doing this for a little while now a friend had put us in touch so she could ask me some questions. One of the questions is something I hear often, “Everyone says starting a hardware company is so hard, yet no one can tell me how it’s hard. Why is that?” My answer was, “The reason why no one can tell you why is that if we knew we could prevent the issues that pop up and delay the timeline. If we could do that it wouldn’t be hard. The thing is, they are the craziest most bizarre problems you’ve ever thought of. Completely unpredictable. Your biggest adversaries are the laws of physics, and turns out, that’s a pretty tough fight.”

Your biggest adversaries are the laws of physics, and turns out, that’s a pretty tough fight.

A few weeks ago we found a bug on our boards. We got them manufactured at two…

--

--

Sara Chipps
Jewelbots Ink

I jam with the console cowboys in cyberspace. CEO @jewelbots #levolove JS4life