Professional Critic Review

Idea and Wireframe Critic

Jeffrey Rawizza
jrawizzacapstone
3 min readOct 1, 2020

--

Previous posts:

What is Capstone?

Project Statement

The Meeting

Context:

The professional that I got to meet with was Cameron Samimi from Paradowski Creative, who works as a Immersive Experience Designer. The plan for the meeting was to discuss and get feedback and advice for moving forward with my project idea.

Preparations

For the meeting I wanted something that was visual that I would be able to really show my idea and help explain what I was thinking, more so than what I had before. Which was just a project statement and target types. This led me to create a basic wireframe of the two main interactions of the app; the creation and posting of a card, and the interaction of the users in the game. This way I had something visually solid to help me explain my idea, as well as something more solid to get feedback on.

Meeting Time

The meeting went great, I had no issues or anything. The meeting lasted about an hour during which I got a ton of helpful and useful advice. We started the meeting by officially introducing ourselves since we had both seen each other around Maryville University before, but never officially met. After Introductions we jumped right in. I started off by explaining the basic premise of my idea and what I was planning to do. Then I led into the wireframe I had created for the meeting. Explaining my idea and going through the wireframe was great! It was more like a conversion which was great because I was able to get a lot of advice and thoughts all throughout the meeting rather than just the end. I won’t go into all the advice that I was given, Just the most important and how it’s going to influence my project.

Advice

I think that the most important and advice that will be the heaviest influence on my project was that I should make the user flow and interactions dynamic. This advice has changed my main interaction of posting and creating a card drastically. Where as before the meeting the creation process was linear, taking it one step at a time all in one sitting. The user is now able to create drafts of there cards where they can input information in any order. This way the user can take there time creating there card and not have to have re-input all the information. The next piece of advice was that I should allow for people to create variations on their cards. This way the users could have different images for the same prompt and description. This is what led me to create stacks of cards, which have the same description and prompt, but different images. This would also allow other users to create a variation on someone else’s prompt and description, creating more user interaction. The last major piece of advice is that the users should be allowed to draw in app for the game, not just have to upload an image to the game. As well as being able to change the settings based on how they want to play the game. This way the user has more control over there game style and the tone they want the game to have.

Overall Thoughts

Overall the meeting was super insightful and very helpful. It has made me think about things that I wasn’t thinking about before. It also helped me better my wireframe so I can get some user tests done sooner. I feel like I was prepared nicely for the meeting and knew what I wanted advice on. Though If I did it again I think that I would liked to have more of the wireframe fully prototyped out so that I could have given a better demo of what I had so far. Lastly this meeting taught me that meeting with professionals isn’t as scary as I first expected. They have a professional air about them, but they are just as friendly and excited to help you and see what you are working on as your peers.

--

--

Jeffrey Rawizza
jrawizzacapstone

I am an Interactive Design Major at Maryville University. My main interests in Interactive Design are animation, illustrations, and web development.