Why School Is the Best Advertising Agency

Cammi Pham
3 min readDec 17, 2015

BY CAMMI PHAM — First appeared on my personal blog

What Is The Best Advertising Agency In The World?
It is not McCann Erickson, DDB, Ogilvy, BBDO, or Edelman.

It is SCHOOL. It convinces you that you need society as it is.

A smart man once said to me.

A culture fixated on female thinness is not an obsession about female beauty, but an obsession about female obedience. Dieting is the most potent political sedative in women’s history; a quietly mad population is a tractable one.

The most erroneous assumption is to the effect that the aim of public education is to fill the young of the species with knowledge and awaken their intelligence, and so make them fit to discharge the duties of citizenship in an enlightened and independent manner. Nothing could be further from the truth. The aim of public education is not to spread enlightenment at all; it is simply to reduce as many individuals as possible to the same safe level, to breed and train a standardized citizenry, to put down dissent and originality. That is its aim in our political system, whatever the pretensions of politicians, pedagogues and other such mountebanks, and that is its aim everywhere else.

I love learning. I spent my life idolizing the education system, then I realized it was a lie.

People told me my way of doing things was wrong because it was unconventional. School taught me taking short cut was a cheating, but in real life you build ideas on top of others.

My mother told me the more uneducated people are, the easier to control them. She told me I have 2 ears for a reason: one to capture all the information, the other to let them go. Don’t believe what I was taught, make my own judgement. I took me over 12 years to realize she was right.

There were no sex classes. No friendship classes. No classes on how to navigate a bureaucracy, build an organization, raise money, create a database, buy a house, love a child, spot a scam, talk someone out of suicide, or figure out what was important to me. Not knowing how to do these things is what messes people up in life, not whether they know algebra or can analyze literature.” — William Upski Wimsatt

That is why I choose to unlearn what society has taught me and relearn.

That is why I write this blog. I don’t care if you agree or disagree. I just hope my work will make you think and start asking questions.

P.S. Thanks for reading this far! If you found value in this, I’d really appreciate it if you recommend this post (by clicking the ❤ button) so other people can see it!.

Don’t forget to join my mailing list to receive free business and life hacks.

--

--

Cammi Pham

Unlearner. Marketer. Partner @ Growth + eCommerce Marketing Agency @ThinkRenegade | Write www.cammipham.com hi@cammipham.com