August monthly review

Yunzhe Zhou
Life Projects
Published in
3 min readSep 2, 2019

“Everything that you want is already here”

Notes: Rather than solid physical things, so much of my change this month has been mental, which is interesting (because it’s hard to measure, but so fundamental to any change I want to make in my life).

REFLECTIONS 🎉

Highlights from the past month

  1. What was your biggest accomplishment this month?

Getting into the feeling of being more abundant, such as:

  • Saying no to things that don’t fit into the life I want to live (no to clients, no to job offerings, etc.)
  • Doing things from a standpoint in which I want truly want to, instead of from the mindset of FOMO (fear of missing out)

And speaking of abundance, I also got my first cold email about clarify call from a super aligned potential client! It’s been awesome to have people finding me and reaching out to me through my content :)

2. What was your peak experience this month?

Lying next to my partner after our daily night stretches and gazing into his eyes (he’s also my accountability buddy). I feel so much in love, and it feels like I fall in love over and over again every day 💕.

3. What main challenge did you face this month?

Family relationships: I overcame the challenge of opening up to my parents more (specifically Dad), and having the first heart to heart conversations in a really long time! Really proud of my progress and both of us :)

4. What do you want to do less of and more of to balance your life?

Less of entertainment news in the morning, and more of unscheduled free time for myself to just be.

5. What is your favorite discovery this month?

I have two, because #abundance.

  • Accomplishment lists: where I write down one thing I accomplished that day. It helps me feel grateful, grounded and appreciative of what I do every day
  • Laws of attraction & manifestation from Loren Trlin: Believing in the universe, and that we are one with universe — putting it out there and trusting the process. Because I’m building a business & career I can *thrive* in for a long time

FUN GOODIES 🎈

things that have captured my interest

Books I read:

Productivity experiments:

  • Time blocking in my ideal day — Morning :: writing, afternoon :: helping others, evening :: personal time

Quotes on careers:

  • “You are living success for yourself, not for others.”
  • “When will it be ever enough? Enough is now.”

Questions I’m pondering:

AUGUST HABIT PROJECT: 30 days of forward folds

I can barely touch my toes before and now I can put my head to my knees! It’s amazing what 30 days of consistent practice can do.

And all with 5–10 minutes too :)

PLANNING ✏️

Intentions and goals for the upcoming month

The most important business priority is:

Building a stable freelance writing business with ongoing clients

The most important personal priority is:

Seriously get clear on goals with abundance in mind

My September project is: The bliss project

Inspired by Loren, it’s similar to self-care where everyday, I’m leaving behind and letting go of:

  • excuses
  • judgments
  • criticisms

And just be in a state of love, adoration, gratitude and abundance

This is the end of my monthly review for August, thanks so much for reading!

--

--

Yunzhe Zhou
Life Projects

Designing life through monthly action plans. For how you you can get started on a side project, get the toolkit here: bit.ly/12sideprojects