Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

One Week Without Alcohol

It hasn’t been all rainbows and unicorns…but also not too bad

Lizzee Bee
Live Your Life On Purpose
7 min readOct 31, 2019

--

I haven't touched a drop of alcohol for 7 whole days.

I reached my (admittedly high) bottom last week where I had just had enough.

Enough!

I hated myself. I felt pathetic, ugly, embarrassed — you name it. All the self-loathing words in the dictionary were staring me in the face.

It really helped to pour out all my disgust in myself on paper (um, screen?) and I am proud to say that I have held strong.

Completely sober from the time I returned home after a very stressful family situation (nursing my dying mother-in-law, which had been dealt with in part by numbing myself with white wine) to having to face another very stressful family situation that I knew would not be helped by white wine as it really needed me to have a clear head and be very, very present (pregnant teenage daughter).

So what helped?

I have to be honest, I have been helped along this week by the fact that I feel a bit unwell (courtesy of some dogy prawns at an airport lounge). So apart from feeling resolute about not drinking from an emotional point of view, the thought of drinking makes me feel physically blah. No joke, I would suffer feeling…

--

--

Lizzee Bee
Live Your Life On Purpose

Figuring myself out one post at a time. Disenchanted corporate person. Writing about life and stuff.