Photo by Henry Ascroft on Unsplash

My Writing Workflow on an iPad

“Hey Siri, it’s writing time.”

Akshay Gajria
Published in
6 min readMar 26, 2021

--

Recently, I wrote an article on how the iPad is a writer’s computer. In this one, I’m going to break down my writing process using the said iPad.

Using Shortcuts:

Shortcuts on iOS has become an integral part of my life. I’ll write a separate piece on all the shortcuts I use, but for now, there are two shortcuts I use to increase my productivity when it comes to writing.

1. Daily Scene

The first one is something I call the Daily Scene.

This shortcuts prompts me with three simple questions:
1. What did you get done yesterday?
2. What are you going to do today?
3. What is blocking you from achieving these things?

Once I answer these questions, it copies the text to the clipboard and it iMessages it to my partner. (The iMessage part of it ensures that I can do this via my iPhone or iPad without missing a beat — I tried WhatsApp before, but then I was limited to only the iPhone.)

Photo by Miguel Tomás on Unsplash

--

--