Entrepreneur Sonal Shah is pro at hustling when it comes to managing home and running a successful business on the Meesho app

Mangala Dilip
Meesho Tech
Published in
4 min readMar 4, 2021

Meesho’s exchange and refund policies are the most impressive and impactful features of its app, claims entrepreneur Sonal Shah. The Maharashtra-based entrepreneur, in fact, vouches for the fact that merely leveraging these two features will give new entrepreneurs the necessary ammunition to launch their careers successfully through Meesho. After all, these features help entrepreneurs gain the trust of their customers.

Sonal is one among many Indian women who became a homemaker by default when the busy schedules of the other members of her family and the need for someone to stay home full time coincided. But, Sonal’s desire to have an identity of her own was omnipresent. Thanks to a well meaning friend who was already a Meesho entrepreneur, Sonal was able to give wings to her desire and become the champion businesswoman that she is today. Today Sonal is able to optimally manage not only her home and domestic responsibilities, but also her business and professional life.

Are you intrigued by Sonal’s story? Read on to find out how she built a brand, a network of fellow entrepreneurs, and the perfect homemaker-businesswoman balance for herself:

Jab I met Meesho

It has been two years since I joined Meesho as an entrepreneur. I was looking for a job that I could do sitting at home because I didn’t want to leave home. I wanted to do something that would help pass my time and earn an income as well. Meesho was perfect for me. Whenever I would get time, I could resell, as there are no restrictions on time, I could work on my business as per my convenience. Hence, Meesho perfectly matched my requirements.

A friend of mine, already an entrepreneur at the time, told me about Meesho. She encouraged me to try out the app, all the while singing praises of Meesho. I started reselling based on her suggestion, and I have never looked back since then.

Earning from home

I was a preschool teacher for about six years. We shifted our home around then and the situation was such that someone needed to stay home round the clock, and because both my husband and my son were busy, I chose to take on that responsibility. I was, however, looking for an opportunity to make something of my skills and education, and also earn an income. This is when I came to know about Meesho.

The opportunity intrigued me, and I knew that I needed to give it a fair shot. I started loving it, and soon I started earning way more than my monthly salary as a teacher. My lifestyle also changed because of Meesho. I am now updated on all fashion trends, and have the latest kitchenware, because I am reselling on Meesho.

My family is completely supportive of my Meesho career, and I am glad to be able to fulfill all my responsibilities at home while also satisfying my desire to be a businesswoman in my own right.

Initially I started selling among my friend circles and relatives, but eventually expanded my customer base by sharing and advertising my products on platforms like Facebook as well, and got many new customers. Word of mouth also helped a lot in expanding my business and becoming as successful as I am today.

Top reselling tips

Meesho’s services are already amazing for any entrepreneur to succeed and I believe that we can capitalise on the company’s exchange and refund policies alone to actually gain the trust of customers. A lot of times customers who are looking to buy clothes will only feel comfortable doing so, when there is a return policy in place. So, I would say that being able to tell our customers that they can get a product they don’t like replaced is a great thing for business.

Beyond this, as a business owner, one of the easiest ways to gain customers is also to provide offers and discounts. Sometimes, I choose to lower my margin to offer great prices for them, and even personal gifts from my side, by setting up prize-based challenges. These have also helped build my customers’ trust in no time.

While a sure-shot success can never be guaranteed, working hard and being consistent goes a long way. Keep trying different ways to find new customers and come up with ways to make existing customers happy. That is the only way to succeed.

My Meesho life

It also helps to build a network of Meesho entrepreneurs who help each other out. We share products that we really like with one another and cheer each other on. We are constantly chatting on our groups about how we can improve on our business.

Meesho has helped relieve my boredom of sitting at home, and more importantly given me an identity when I had to quit my teaching job and stay at home. I hope to keep growing my business in the coming years as I have so far.

Do you wish to help entrepreneurs like Sonal Shah become successful? Click here to join the Meesho rocketship!

From Anarkali Annu to Kanchivaram Kavitha, there’s something for everyone on the Meesho app

Entrepreneur Mamatha and her husband are partners for life

--

--