Lorna Dolan, Fiction Writer And Long-Distance Friend

A Monster Alley Apartments Tenant

The Accidental Monster
Monster Alley
2 min readApr 10, 2023

--

Image by author

Wind rushed through the buildings, picking up the faint hint of petrichor from the recent spring rain. The freshly planted magnolia tipped its petals toward the ramp and stairs where Lorna stood appreciating its beauty.

Carrie waved from her window, enjoying the chance to welcome each new tenant as they came. Lorna waved back, slightly reserved by comparison.

A few minutes after Carrie disappeared from the window, she emerged from the front door with Sieran Lane just behind her, a welcoming smile on his face.

Come on in, Lorna, to your virtual home at Monster Alley Apartments!

Who Lorna Is To Me

We met just after I created this account — she says I helped reignite her passion to keep writing on Medium, but I feel she’s been pivotal in me maintaining interest in writing in general. Perhaps we’ve both encouraged each other quite a lot, I suppose!

Lorna is a sweetie, but she’s got that “matter-of-factness” of that favorite teacher we all had in primary/elementary school. Kind, but firm.

Mostly kind, though. 😉

Her writing digs deep to bring out the emotional qualities through the fantastical imagery. It’s an adventure of the mind to read her work, and soothing to the soul to read her comments.

I don’t know where I would be without Lorna. Honestly, I might have given up long ago if not for her.

If you have a moment, Dear Reader, check to see what she’s up to now:

Until next time, follow each other, follow the dopamine, and follow yourself, always!

Hey, look: a newsletter. I’m on Twitter, Facebook, Patreon, Instagram, and Mastodon. Check out my podcast, or BuyMeACoffee!

Support writers, read without limits, and be part of the Medium community — all for $5.

Write for Monster Alley
Follow some amazing writers
Or, get your publication featured on Monster Alley

*Divider by MahuaSarkar on Pixabay

--

--

The Accidental Monster
Monster Alley

I am weird, spiritual, and deep. Accidentally monstrous at times, but usually with good intentions. On Medium since 2022. www.TheMonsterAlley.com